Steemit Poetry Contest #6 + Winners of #5!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




OMG! Only having undertaken this work, I understood how difficult it is! Do you know how many times I wanted to have enough SBD to increase the number of prizes or give first place to five-six-seven participants? :)Please do not lose faith in yourself and do not give up! I in no way want to offend anyone! If you do not take the prize, it does not mean that you are a bad poet! I read your verses many times and the soul is torn from the thought that it is necessary to choose ...




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #6 - Hero (Heroes)




About Prizes:


First Place - 15 SBD

Second Place - 10 SBD

Third Place - 5 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - December 3 7:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #5



1st Place - "Mysteries of Tiny Wars" by @steemedchitty



I love the worlds under a lens

that magnifies their glory!

The tiny, simple kinds of life

tell one intricate story!



Like, how did mitochondria

end up living in cells?

Like, how did life even begin,

and go on to raise hell?



The world a coliseum is,

of Darwin-described ways.

On every day a war is waged

to see who gets to stay.






2nd Place - "Three Degrees of Evolution" by @ajremy



From dust to man, we morphed,

Growing in every manner, involving evolving,

Like raindrops make up oceans, we formed

A world, with varying matter, revolving, dissolving.



I crawled and drawled, evolved

Then walked and talked, engulfed

In crying and sighing before dying and flying

like a bird. Shying and wrying , I grow, from scrying to lying.



From innocence to insolence,

From a ruddy rose to a sorrel wild flower,

To torment with you all diligence,

I'm that very 'monster', The Evolver.






3rd Place - "Ambitious Fish"by @chrisroberts



If all my ancestors could grant a wish,

There is a puzzle I wish I could solve;

How did we grow beyond ambitious fish?

What helps a lower species to evolve?



While flopping on the shores we gasped for breath,

The stars above were where we longed to be.

What made us want to grow until our death,

And why are humans built of inquiry?



The wonders that I witness every day,

While wishing to enhance my feeble mind,

Present new games that all of us must play;

I pray the stars don't leave my ass behind.





Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Cool contest. Resteemed
Great winning pieces too. I tried from time to time to run a contest. Until you try you can't anticipate how hard it is. Hope for entries, then wish you could give more, wish everyone could win. Time obliged to be a constructive steemian. I couldn't do it.
All the best with this. It looks good.
I like the old logo too. Stay old school.
I will try to enter something, just for fun.

Congratulations to @steemedchitty and @ajremy!
Thanks for hosting a great contest. Looking forward to some great hero poems.

Here is the poetry contest I'm currently running, called "Revenge of the Words." Thanks!

Nice post! What will happening, if someone resteem your post?

Amen to that! I’ve read winners’ stories of a certain contest that is held by a magazine every year which I will not name and when I see the judges’ names, I think “Well, they don’t know anything about writing!” No wonder this was chosen.

Awesome post friend.
I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good.
best of luck go ahead friend.

Wow... I came in second! I definitely feel fly and ready to write a poem about heroes.. let's go!

Great work. I look forward to your next one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67755.59
ETH 3831.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67