The Museum-Going Cannibal / Original Poem on Human Contradictions

in #poetry7 years ago


The poem, below, was conceived in response to a strong and disturbing Francis Bacon Exhibition. It was also my first iPhone poem, finger-typed on my smartphone, since I was asked to leave my backpack at the museum's cloakroom.

As those familiar with Bacon know, his work is a pretty damning verdict of the human condition, featuring nightmarish unravelings of violence and pain. Yet, staggering throughout the halls for a few hours, assaulted by so much powerfully-rendered unpleasantness, I also began to meditate on the deep contradictions inherent in human nature.

On one hand, there were these horrible paintings doubling up as giant distorting mirrors and, on the other hand, these deeply affecting and endearing, cultured museum-goers—straining to better understand or recognize themselves in these complex works of art.

Hence, the great contrasts in this poem: the hissing menace of bloodlust/war versus sublime impulses for art/charity...


The Museum-Going Cannibal

Upright specimen, looking to be fine-tuned
on weekends by the civilizing influence of beauty,
standing still and reflecting in the refracted light
of another’s encounter with the sublime.

All polite smiles and hushed appreciation,
sidling up to some mounted painting and tilting
its head to sip and savor the brushstrokes, yet
downright vicious throughout the week.

Hankering after a bit of meat and blood
in the shape of a live woman or a dead man.
Never mind that they know them or not,
at times, any old body warm or cold will do.

What a mixed bag of bones: when not frenzied
and teetering at the abyss of some bestial appetite,
turning around and donating blood to unknowns:
as charitable and vulnerable as a winged thing.

© Yahia Lababidi


("The Screaming Pope", painting by Francis Bacon: http://www.artyfactory.com/art_appreciation/portraits/francis_bacon.htm;
Wings image: Pixabay)

Sort:  

The paradox of humankind, that we carry so much within us, are capable of so much, both good and evil, and often both at the same time. No wonder people get depressed, we can be so ridiculously hard to pin down/figure out. "What a mixed bag of bones...as charitable and vulnerable as a winged thing". This poem is both lovely and brutal. Beautiful, following :)

Yes, as lovely as brutal as we can be... this was my hope for the poem. Thank you, for joining me :) I hope my words will continue to keep you good company!

Looking forward to reading more of your work @yahialababidi! Check out (and contribute to, if you wish) the collaborative poem I started, just for fun and to build community in the poetry section of Steemit: https://steemit.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/steemit-collaborative-poetry-experiment

This is just a fun experiment, it's already getting pretty silly, but I would be honored if you felt inspired to contribute a couple of lines :)

Also, If you have time to take a look at some of my work, I'd love to hear what you think:

https://steemit.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/capitulation-a-poem-by-bennettitalia

https://steemit.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/honesty-a-poem-by-bennettitalia

Just submitted to your exquisite corpse, @bennettitalia & now, off to check out your work :)

Thanks @yahialababidi! Lol I was originally going to call it "Steemit Exquisite Corpse Collaborative Poetry Experiment" but decided to keep it simple...

Yet, staggering throughout the halls for a few hours, assaulted by so much powerfully-rendered unpleasantness, I also began to meditate on the deep contradictions inherent in human nature.

Isn’t it weird how things that sicken us in the spirit like this are sometimes the source for inspiration and even, dare I say, the cause for positive paradigm shifts?
I have many times found righteous things when darkness stole my gem encrusted life. As Janis Joplin sang
“Freedom is just another word for nothing-left-to-lose”.

What a beautiful and sensitive response, @Lorilikes! I, too, 'have many times found righteous things when darkness stole my gem encrusted life.' Strange existence of opposites where darkness leads to light and disgust -hopefully, eventually- to transformation...

Thanks, for your generous, thoughtful response. May you and your loved ones (as much as possible) be protected from all that is dark.

Powerful words @yahialababidi. I can feel the stirrings of that meditative meandering that only comes from hanging around good art. It was something I did in Uni and have just realized reading this poem that I haven't been to an exhibition in over 2 years. Sht, I am starved of art, I need to go get some inspiration.

I particularly liked the final verse, the conclusion to the poem is both disturbing and moving. You have inspired me to try writing in form today! I am going to go look up the form rules for the Ghazal or Sestina, something to challenge myself. Give me 2 days 😉 and hopefully I'll have something half decent.
Peace

Haha, @raj808, get thee to an exhibition, man! Then, again, you're a scuba diver ... so you do attend living breathing art shows, which are superior :)

Happy to hear I inspired you and I look forward to reading what you come up with in a couple of days.

Warmly, Yahia

I think I need to get out to a museum/art gallery as I couldn't summon the muse. I wanted to try something different so I chose to try a Quantern and I'm not sure about the results. It's because I chose not to let the reef wanderer out lol

I am going to ignore it overnight then look at it again in the morning. See if the subconscious can do its magic. If I'm still flummoxed I will get it work-shopped

Great to see you're doing well in this platform man. I've been seeing you since you're day 1 here. Keep it up!

Nice of you to pop by, @michaeljpsalazar, hope you're doing well, too! (Did you enjoy this poem/post?)

Yes, I did. Good thing you've got the consistency in your posting right now. Have a great day!

Ah, yes, I remember you telling me early on to pace myself :) Thanks, for reading, and be well (it's midnight, here, off to dreamland...)

It is a corpse

Your flow in this one is so organic, and the imagery takes me to some pretty messed up, yet familiar, places. Thanks for posting, this is some strong work!

'Pretty messed up, yet familiar places' thanks, for your candor, my friend.

"Homo sum, humani nihil a me alienum puto", or "I am human, and nothing human is alien to me."
-Terence, Roman playwright

Dear @yahialababidi,
By bringing us all into the observer's mindset, both of art and of museum goers, you share the empathy of Bacon's work. Thank you for this perspective carried by your sturdy stanzas.

This is the hope, dear @eyedreemit of every poet/poem, to take the reader There. Gratifying to learn this did it for you, and that you found stanzas sturdy. Many thanks, for your kind attention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.49
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39