Echoes of the Heart - Original Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

dreams-2724523_1920.jpg

Echoes of the Heart

In midnight echoes
a night speaks.
Her lips bear record,
a wounded heart beats
relentless in time
overthinking, parsing
moonbeams
the endless bell chimes.
A hand lifts shading
sleepless, dried eyes.
The world turns, careless
a gay, masked charade.
Often love is missed,
and feelings overplayed.
The elements of love
were missed along the way
casting long shadows
on two curtained window panes.


U5dsEMtZcWM28sgUZCf8g83DG4ZYERR_1680x8400.png


This original poem is edited from my poem
Tweet this evening. Inspiration for the poem taken from a prompt provided by @DimpleVerse on Twitter

Image

I am a member of the @freewritehouse growing community! Come and see all the exciting new things happening and try your hand at a 5 minute freewrite daily! Today's prompt coconut

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png

wandrnrose7_red.png

Sort:  

Love your poem, @wandrnrose7! Have you ever thought of collecting all your poetry and having it published in book form?

Thank you so much for your support! Yes, I have! I need to discipline myself and discover the process. It's long been my desire. hugs!!

I would definitely buy it :)

Thank you for that wonderful support <3!!
Much love

Sorry to chime in on another comment thread but I'm currently looking at the same process @wandrnrose7 and have found it to be difficult to do unless you self publish through amazon or another entity where you have to pay to get the book printed. The best course of action to gain some type of consideration from traditional publishers, is to get as many poems into literary journals as possible, check out this link to a list of paying journals/magazines, but unfortunately the journals want first publishing rights, which means anything posted on steemit is out. I have been thinking along the lines of waiting until I'm famous with my first novel ;-), then maybe self publishing a collection called 'A head of steem, poetry from steemit', well maybe a better title will occure but you get what I mean. I might just bite the bullet and pay to get it out on amazon in the next 6 months but I've not researched how much that would cost and I'm guessing it's going to be in the hundreds or thousands. There are poetry collection publishers out there but they all want to see you published in journals and want collections that are previously unpublished :-( Better get cracking writing more lol

Thank you for sharing your research. I did learn much of this many years ago. I want to say there is a cheaper way to self publish on Amazon [ebook format] but its so long ago I saw the details. I will talk to a writer here who has a self published fiction book on Amazon and I will ask what that it cost him.
Thanks for the journal link!
I'll be looking for your first book...i will be purchasing a signed copy! 😉

@raj808 @wandrnrose7
To self-publish on Amazon it doesn't cost you anything. Of course, if you don't spend much on it, you cannot expect great return. Having your book available is an easy and free step, but then marketing and getting people to be interested in it is another thing. It can be costly AND time-consuming. I have only spent money to get proof-copies before publishing to check for printing errors and any skipped typos etc., and the books turned out great.

Traditional publishers tend to focus on those who have a lot of poems published in journals. Furthermore, a close physical link is usually a must or really helpful. Most people publish through publishers that is close to them locally. There are not many traditional publishers that do poetry, and the acceptance rate would be very slim (and they take months to review). For me, personally, living in Malta, I did not want to find a publisher here because that just kills my opportunity for selling anywhere else (and really, none of my followers are from Malta). Amazon is ideal as I have both kindle and paperback.

I have seen poetry collections (especially chapbooks) from publishers which are overpriced; and they print and ship from USA only, for instance. Therefore, for that kind of book to sell they generally focus locally or you really have to have an incredible marketting game. Most poets I know through twitter end up self-publishing with Amazon, because it's easier, less time-consuming and you control price and such.

Having said all that, you always need to do more than just press publish. My book sold ten copies in a month since release, which for me is more than enough (I'm a student and poetry is just a hobby). Without advertising except a couple of tweets to my few followers and posting on Wordpress, I cannot complain. I also am posting it on steemit because the upvotes from steemit actually make me earn more than my sales. Silly, I know! There are some ideas where people sell the books for SBD/STEEM. And that's another thing where traditional routes don't entice me. Why should I write an excellent poem, wait 3 months to be rejected from a journal which pays no financial reward where I can post it on steemit and earn more?

Thank you for sharing this wonderfully helpful comment! This was worth an entire post for it's valuable insight. I really appreciate your kind thoughts and experience.

Your use of words is lovely!
Thanks for sharing it with us!

Thank you so much! It's wonderful to see you!

I got so lost in the other comment, I almost forgot to comment about the poem!

It was interesting and a bit eerie. The silence exacerbates her pain; I think you've done a really good job with the imagery :)

I appreciate your critique. Your opinion means a lot to me. <3

Lovely work!
I may have to join you all in the daily freewrite. :-)

Please do!! <3 thanks for reading my poem, too.

P.s. I really like the poem :-)

Her lips bear record,
a wounded heart beats
relentless in time
overthinking, parsing
moonbeams
the endless bell chimes.

This section in particular has a timeless quality to it. Really evocative and

a wounded heart beats
relentless in time
overthinking

Reminds me of the feeling of aching, overthinking that happens after a bad break up or when you experience unrequited love. I'm not sure if that was the meaning but it hit me right in that poetry bitter-sweet spot with the imagery.

Love it

Thank you so much. Yes, I would agree with your thoughts. Although I am currently in a wonderful relationship personally, the twitter prompts that initiated the poem went here [midnight echoes & elements of love]

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you so much for considering my poetry! @sunravelme!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71