Western Cape Flats // Original poetry by an African

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


This post was removed from view by the writer in an effort to distance himself and his work from the aggressive associations of censorship, flagging and other unsavoury aspects now synonymous with this platform.


3rd February 2019

Thank you for your continuing friendship and support of my content at,

  • Honest Cash, a social network where you can earn Bitcoin (BCH) by creating and upvoting good content, or

  • Cent.Co where you can do the same using Ethereum (ETH)

Sort:  

Glad you think so. I'll try to deliver more.

The whole poem gives me the feeling as if you're fighting in life, making decisions all the time, and as life gets tough, you somehow made it

I appreciate your comment!

I forwarded the post to one of us (the cousin) who is raising her family in Eastern Europe these days. She recalls the day as I do. We're doing our best now as migrants - much like our ancestors did✊

I'm an immigrant in my own country too. 3rd generation. my grandparents came from China and settle down in South East Asia. still striving 💪

Solidarity! I'm a proud African living in Asia, but when I go to my country, I am not considered African. It's pretty heartbreaking to see humanity so far lost in the myre of it's own injuries. We trod onwards as you say. We will make it in the end when our kids thrive and face the challenges as we did.

Yours is an exciting prospect: to be studying your own roots in Beijing China. I wish you all the best. See you at the top, my friend.

Oh yes indeed. See you at the top too !

Original poetry by an African ~ I like that! :)

Wow! So great man, will also follow. Keep up the good work!

I'm happy for the follow - found your comments on the MG at @ackhoo also admire your photographic work! Following you too of course.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bushgrad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congrats! This post was resteemed and upvoted by @postresteem!

Send 0.400 SBD or 0.400 STEEM to @postresteem with your post URL in the memo. Get your post resteemed to 3,500+ followers and get a minimum of 15+ upvotes!

Want to learn more? Click here!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 8.11% upvote!
I was summoned by trumanity. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

That question at the end...

I love the desolate yet nostalgic feel of this poem. History, even painful history, seems to breed nostalgia in spite of itself sometimes. Your imagery is dramatic and immediate, but also haunting. My people didn't come to the US so long ago that I can't relate to these lines:

"Our adults' heads filled with ineptly concealed
second-guesses, swirling questions
they couldn't put into words,
nor even less answer

As we grew, our heads filled too, like some curse
until here we are, our poorly phrased questions
bearing fewer answers still"

Or to their echo in the final stanza:

"Had they uncoated from this white flat's dust,
slipped the smoothness of the concrete cells
of the corridors of the places of my baptism,
would I now write clear phrases,
or begin to offer questions
and deliver the answers."

What you reference here is so familiar to me from my own experience of growing up in a family of people who essentially still considered themselves to be immigrants, and having to learn, as an adult, to find my way through the morass of half examined and often conflicting assumptions I had inherited, to mercilessly sort through the chests and boxes of sentimental keepsakes and find what was actually useful to me.

Not sure if any of this relates to your poem... but I had fun writing about it ;)

Of course it relates. And it's so exciting to find someone halfway around the planet with whom it resonated so much. It makes writing it all the more worthwhile. So happy to read your comments. Thanks for the compliments and the time you took to ponder over it all and write about as well.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 15% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41