I grew up -my own poem

in #poetry8 years ago

I found joy and fun everywhere
Strolling through life without a care
Magic is what floated in my head
Constantly being visited by the monster under my bed

Castles and dungeons grew on our soil
And i was always the princes, to be treated royal
Chocolates and sweets made me feel so alive
Boy, it was much easier when i was five

And after a while I thought i was big
But through mountains of toys-I would still dig
Fairies and angels made my life great
I really wish i was still eight

I was old, or so I thought
I was superior in every argument i fought
Even though it's way back when
I still remember being ten

Seeing the real world, i was awake
Looking before every step i take
I thought I saw everything, but there is so much to be seen
Gee, not so long ago- i was thirteen

Now the fairies don't visit my window sill
The monster under my bed lies still
my only joy is my cellphone
So much has changed as i have grown

I only see me friends at school
Hanging out with family is no longer 'cool'
Now, i dont even dream
Why has time made me fourteen.

Sort:  

Congratulations @talah-james! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @talah-james! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @talah-james! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44