Student Driver (Original Poetry featuring the art of @ankapolo)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

armistice.jpg
Source

His mouth fascinates
me powerful enough to
suck soul from my lips.

He found poetry
when I didn't think there was
anything to look for.

Love is like a tank
with student driver scrawled
on the gun turret.


I was playing with grouping haikus into a poem and this ended up being my favorite result. Really, I just wanted something that went with @ankapolo's art, because this piece is just beautiful. She works digitally and in acrylic, and I adore her style. Here is her original post, where she talks about the process of doing a live painting, and how she signs her work with a kiss when she finishes. Check out her page- she makes some beautiful art.



writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Art is property of @ankapolo
Poetry is property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Very nice - both poem and the art

We need to hijack the tank 🏔❤️ Resteemed by @rockymtnsteem

tries to think this through with the simile attached to it
Yes! Yes we should lol

what a cool coincidence @sunravelme ... i also love this piece, I get to see it everyday in our living room!

:)

Jealous! I'd love this piece in my living room....

I love those haikus. Beautiful work!
This one is power packed!

Love is like a tank
with student driver scrawled
on the gun turret.

The art is amazing so I'll head over to her blog.

Thank you lovely! She's great :)

I really like this one and I didn't even realize they were haiku until I read the after part. Probably my new favorite of yours.

Thank you! The last haiku is my favorite of the whole piece!

Very interesting writing exploration @sunravelme, I'm so delighted to have my art be part of your creative and clever poem. We are all love-tanks operated by amateur drivers :)))

Yes! Thank you for the lovely art- it really added to the poetry, for sure.

Clever trick with the haiku. I didn't realize it until the end either, but it felt good to read. The 'student driver' bit is especially accurate....

Thank you! It seemed silly to write a single haiku and call that a post lol. The "student driver" part is my personal favorite too.

This post received a 12.3% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Lovely haiku that you need to force yourself to read everything to "feel" the ambiguity, though it's in the form of 5/7/5. There is no pause for every line that's how you really need to consider reading it over and over again. Lol! Thanks sunravelme!

Thank you! It's not quite a traditional haiku, as those are generally about nature- I was just playing with the structure, not the content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67144.34
ETH 3517.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69