ARMISTICE | Acrylic Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Hi fellow Steemians,
I wanted to share with you another acrylic painting I've done a little while back...

798202_10151263712884537_1565182529_o.jpg

I was asked to do a live painting at a new gallery in downtown Miami to promote it on the opening night. I was really nervous that whole day because, in the midst of all the preparation and the transporting of my art supplies, I still had no idea what I wanted to paint that evening.

When I finished setting up my stage, which consisted of an easel, a blank 36" x 36" wooden board, a bucket of water and a box of paints and brushes, I still had a little time before people starting showing up, so whipped out my sketch book and started sketching some ideas.

This one stuck with me...

IMG_20170928_234128-01 small.jpg

I have to admit that I'm very reluctant to do live painting events due to the stress that goes into doing this. At the same time, I have this voice in my head that always reprimands me for not stepping out of my comfort zone and also reminds me that some of my best work was actually done under a lot of stress.

I've done several live painting events in the past and had some great outcomes but also a couple of epic fails, though I didn't let it show... the show must go on.

819232_10151263712039537_1777510423_o.jpg

After the rough outline of the idea, my anxiety subsided and got really into it.

812601_10151263713029537_52174078_o.jpg

Everything started to come together after I painted the background in red. At this point I was really happy to with where this was going and had a few people stop by to talk to me, which also give me a little time to rest and take a step back to visualize the next step.

340703_10151263713059537_1176225313_o.jpg

The opening event went on for about 3-4 hours. At one point of the evening the gallery was really packed and I was impressed at how the music band outside was bringing so many people in and then my performance kept them inside - curious about the finished results. Unfortunately that didn't happen, by the time band played their last song and the crowd was thinning out I was still nowhere near finished.

553294_10151409229821885_913229397_n.jpg

A little thing I do at the end of live painting show, I paint my lips with some acrylic paint and kiss the painting.

842890_10151292299299537_1897759066_o.jpg

After the show I brought the painting home and finished it the next day, with all the details that I didn't manage to add during the show. That same day I also found a buyer who saw me work at the show and fell in love with the painting, so now I also had to come up with a good name for it... After some time googling words and synonyms I found "Armistice" - an agreement to cease fire between two opposing sides in war.

And that stuck as well.

"Armistice"

Armstice 6500x6500 small.jpg

All in all, she's not perfect... there are things that I would have liked to improve... lips, hair, shadows, reflections, etc. But letting go is also part of the gig.


Thank you all for reading!

Anna-Polonsky-Logofds.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful painting, thanks so much for walking through the process!! Does "the kiss" stay in the paintings sometimes, or do you usually take it out of the final? it's a great "makers mark". The original sketch is beautiful as well, great line shading!

Hi thank you so much! yes the kiss actually stays! I took it out (digitally) for the post as I actually mean to make reproductions of this painting and have it sold as posters / home decor / electronics cases / etc... but the original still has the kiss :}

I love this:-) I found you in post made of @juliakponsford :-)

awesome! thank you!

LOL! thank you!
U5dsY3jocuzTae5uLtnK8PT7i2v3eAa.gif

That is really impressive. I don't think I could do a live painting... first I paint way to slow, and all the people looking over my shoulder would really irritate me..

it can be definitely stressful. you have to make it into a kind of performance - not just painting... use a color that people don't expect, have some paint running down the canvas. And if something is off you just got to keep going, you cant wait for the paint to dry and make corrections, or start again :) Its like something you don't really want to do but then very glad you did.

Gorgeous work! I love the colours!
I also dig the symbolic headwear.
Would love to have this as a mural in my living room (if I had a living room, lol).
You have a new fan. ^_^

well i cant help you get a living room... but there might be something i can do about that mural idea... s o o n ;)

Amazing piece <3 the contrast of the helmet and the flowers give such nice vision to the girl. Definitely following you now!

Spasib @gabchick! following you back! love your Henna tattoos!

Awwww <3 thank you (goosebumps)

nice piece :)

thank you dear!

Your arts are really breathtaking. Awesome stuff. Following you for more and more.

Thank you @misterkpan!

The output was so nice, talented artist. :)

So pretty! You have a true talent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71