Fragments

in #poetry5 years ago

I have been struggling to write anything for over a year now, although I have fragments scattered throughout my journals, waiting for me to put myself back together, to find the gold in my crevices. I thought I’d share some.

The universe is never quiet
The ocean is never still
The sky keeps its secrets
Planets cast a shadow over stars
A new star is shaped from the wreckage of a destroyed universe
Inherited stars
Chasing shadows
Forgive the snow for falling
Walking Chaos
This sun refuses to die
Collapsing in on myself like a dying star

In this winter of our discontent
Depression made me do it

the same hollow in their throat
from swallowing all that sorrow

None of them form a coherent poem. Half the time I don’t know what I’m trying to say anyway. Anyone have any suggestions for jumpstarting your muse? I need to get some jumper cables for my creative process.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Love the poem I must say
The ocean is never still
Always is the ocean busy

Thank you- it’s just some ideas pasted together at this point. Maybe it will be a coherent poem someday- once I’ve dissected them, autopsied them throughly, and frankensteined them into something that walks and talks.

Posted using Partiko iOS

theres lots of little creative experiments you can do. i love the one bowie used to write lyrics. he either wrote down a stray line or clipped it from a magazine newspaper etc, then pieced them together. another way is to take for unfinished poems and alternate lines or stanzas, sort of like a schizo poem with several voices talking. i have an idea folder somewhere, lemme look for it.

another idea is to cross out what doesnt fit and save it for another piece. this is what it becomes in my head:

Inherited stars chasing shadows
Forgive the snow for falling
While we walk into chaos
This sun refuses to die
as I collapse in on myself like a dying star
A new star is shaped from the wreckage
of our destroyed universe

you might get a different feel just by subbing in lines.

Ooooo I love that! It feels so much more coherent already. Thank you- after summer school is over I’m going to try and get at least 1 poem written.

Posted using Partiko iOS

A new star is shaped from the wreckage of a destroyed universe
Inherited stars
Chasing shadows
Forgive the snow for falling
Walking Chaos

I find poems can often write themselves over time. I was particularily struck by this stanza. Explore a little more. I think it will take you somewhere amazing:) It is pretty awesome already:)

Thank you! ❤️ your encouragement made me dig out my journal in the first place. I have another piece that’s gone through the editing process once over at isle of write, but I think I’m going to put some more work into it. And then play with this one a little as well. Maybe I’ll manage two poems by the end of summer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think you will:):):)

Thank you, I took the photo near my apartment, during the spring. It’s the only time that poor tree is ever pretty

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.293 which ranks you at #2512 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2504).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59428.91
ETH 2657.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50