Blind Hands [Original poem featuring the art of @leoplaw]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

splitstones.jpg


There's a start-
two blind hands
reaching
for poetry that'll never come
a culmination
that doesn't exist
and a beauty
that winks out
when you need it the most


I probably wrote this for a boy, years ago (almost all of my old poetry was written for a boy, embarassing as that is to admit). But now that my muse has been on hiatus, I feel like it's more of a commentary on the creative process. Thats kind of what I love about poetry- it can mean many things to many people. @leoplaw works mostly in oil on canvas, creating amazingly surreal but still life-like pieces. I vacillated between using this artwork, called "The Split" and his "Perfection is the Enemy" piece, a study in gold and anatomy that I also really loved. This dream-like landscape is a departure from his usual- most of his portfolio consists of figures in situations that are both unreal and hyper-real. He pairs all of his pieces with the psychological musings that inspired them, which makes for some great content. You should definitely check him out if you have the inclination.


rockymountainsteem.png


writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Art is property of @leoplaw
Poetry is property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Thank you @sunravelme for giving my artwork such a wonderful platform with your poetry. =)

It suited the poem perfectly :) Thanks for letting me use it. You have so much talent!

You are most welcome. ^_^
More creative inspiration to you.

Hello, and greetings, @sunravelme!

I've been "hanging around" poetry and fiction workshops lately, and came across you there.

"...almost all of my old poetry was written for a boy, embarassing as that is to admit..."

There's no shame in that; the older I get, the more I understand and realize that it's love that makes the world go 'round... :D

Nice to "meet" you on Steemit, hope to see you around, and thank you for this lovely poem. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you! I have found that writing poetry about love can quickly descend into the cliche if you're not careful! But I still find some good pieces in my old stuff occasionally. Thank you for coming to check out my poetry! Workshopping is probably one of my favorite things to do with writing- it's so fun to talk about the process with other people who are also interested in improving their craft!

I surely have seen plenty of hackneyed cliche writing, but I still find that being in love, and even the memory of being in love, can inspire and stimulate one to excellence.

So can contests... ;)

Through a series of "coincidental" encounters, I stumbled my way into The Writers' Block, and have been so delighted by the kind interaction of members who have welcomed me so warmly and have patiently interacted with my first submission there.

I'm working on an entry for @jrhughes Fictioneers Man vs. Society contest at the moment. But you'll probably see more love poems show up as well from time to time... ;)

So nice to start to get to know you! :D

The art and poetry mix so well together, nothing wrong with having a muse, I'm sure poetry can also have meaning depending on space and time, now it probably means something quite different than it did at the time, all about the context.

The context is so important, for the reader and the writer! Thanks for checking it out :)

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02