You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blind Hands [Original poem featuring the art of @leoplaw]

in #poetry7 years ago

Hello, and greetings, @sunravelme!

I've been "hanging around" poetry and fiction workshops lately, and came across you there.

"...almost all of my old poetry was written for a boy, embarassing as that is to admit..."

There's no shame in that; the older I get, the more I understand and realize that it's love that makes the world go 'round... :D

Nice to "meet" you on Steemit, hope to see you around, and thank you for this lovely poem. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Thank you! I have found that writing poetry about love can quickly descend into the cliche if you're not careful! But I still find some good pieces in my old stuff occasionally. Thank you for coming to check out my poetry! Workshopping is probably one of my favorite things to do with writing- it's so fun to talk about the process with other people who are also interested in improving their craft!

I surely have seen plenty of hackneyed cliche writing, but I still find that being in love, and even the memory of being in love, can inspire and stimulate one to excellence.

So can contests... ;)

Through a series of "coincidental" encounters, I stumbled my way into The Writers' Block, and have been so delighted by the kind interaction of members who have welcomed me so warmly and have patiently interacted with my first submission there.

I'm working on an entry for @jrhughes Fictioneers Man vs. Society contest at the moment. But you'll probably see more love poems show up as well from time to time... ;)

So nice to start to get to know you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43