The ReclusesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

The following is an original poem I wrote while mowing my lawn today.


The Original

The Recluse.jpg


The Recluse

I’ll turn it off,
Boy! That feels great!
Living without this constant drip of hate.

I’ll turn it off,
I’ll be fine.
Well, maybe I’ll scroll one more time...

I’ll turn it off,
This time I swear.
FOMO - I don’t care!

I’ll turn it off,
On this set date.
I’ll leave the rest up to fate.

I’ve turned it off,
And I am feeling fine.

I’ve turned it off,
And have so much more time.

I’ve turned it off,
And now I see people face to face.

I’ve turned it off,
Yet unless you join me, I will be a recluse in this place.



Fantasy Hovel Image
Image Source


This poem obviously addresses social media which is the issue of our time.

I am publicly online, but sometimes wonder: “Why?”

It is said that Socrates once said that “The unexamined life is not worth living”.

I have often thought about this in my walk of faith and of trying to do what is right in the sight of God.

Sometimes the examination appears too great and I realize just how short I come.

The truth is I feel that social media is here to stay, but how we interact with it will change.

I think that right now as a society, we are in the honeymoon phase.

It is still new and the novelty is intoxicating.

But this will fade.

I think having a healthy balance between online and in-person matters and will make a huge difference as we move forward.

We can’t shun one and ridicule the other.

Relationships matter.


Stay tuned.
Stay interesting.
Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because I will write for money.


Join me on the BitShares Decentralized Exchange
in The Billion Hero Challenge!


BitShares Title Block
Image Source


Want to keep your crypto and get cash?
Sign Up for SALT Now!


Don’t Forget To Check Out My Last Post:




Image Source

Write On!

“Do I drink because I am a writer or am I a writer because I drink?”


Sort:  

I want the magical way you write your subjects
Your publications are wonderful

glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks, sometimes it sounds better in my head...lol.

Some lines are good, but nothing great.

As a whole though I am happy with it and glad it is relatable!

I had FOMO when I stopped watchiing the nightly news 6 months ago, but I actually feel more positive without hearing about terrible things that I can't do anything about.

This is exactly the sort of thing I am talking about!

Good for you!!

This is fantastic! Sometimes I find myself wanting to be a recluse! :D

Thanks, yes, I too am looking to be more reclusive sometimes.

Yes, great insight ! There must be a balance and that is very difficult for some

Balance is good sometimes, but being able to figure out what to go all in for when is much harder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53