Write On!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

“Do I drink because I am a writer or am I a writer because I drink?”



Hemingway With A Shotgun Image
Image Source


Writing is one of the most beautiful and powerful art forms when done well and one of the worst when done poorly.

I love reading great writing.

Then I type some c̶h̶i̶c̶k̶e̶n̶s̶h̶i̶t̶ things.

The idea, the hope, the dream, being that one day that these things I write end up doing something more.

What more you ask?

I dunno…

Help people.

Entertain?

Fascinate, explain, elucidate, or educate.

Can art really be explained?



Art Explained Image
Image Source


There are principles to art to be sure. And good art and bad art as there is good and bad writing.

But writing as an art is undervalued because we all do it, yet almost none of us are good at it.

A few of us put in the time or effort to make it happen.

Others have a way of finding amazing things.

Really what sold me on steemit was this from the whitepaper:

"Steem is designed around a relatively simple concept: everyone’s meaningful contribution to the community should be recognized for the value it adds. When people are recognized for their meaningful contributions, they continue contributing and the community grows. Any imbalance in the give and take within a community is unsustainable. Eventually the givers grow tired of supporting the takers and disengage from the community." - (p. 6)

That is what I want to do as a writer, an artist, and as a person, something meaningful.

As I hope most of us do.



Finding Meaning Image
Image Source


What to say next?

Lust is empty. Desire is vain.

Enjoyment is temporary.

Am I insane?

What more do you want from me? What is left for me to do? Are there any more inquiries?

Or what have I to prove to you?


Stay tuned.
Stay interesting.
Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because I write things and need money.


Join me on the BitShares Decentralized Exchange
in The Billion Hero Challenge!


BitShares Title Block
Image Source


Want to keep your crypto and get cash?
Sign Up for SALT Now!


Don’t Forget To Check Out My Last Post:




Image Source

Makin' Music


Sort:  

Love that - The hope that one day our writing does more! YES

Much love @annhoyblog, thanks!

Great read, better writing! Thanks for sharing @stranerarray

Well, they all can't be winners...

Thanks @dylanacobson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54