Untitled Poem

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)




Tell me a lie please, Mr. TV, I want to feel safe,
A simple exchange is all I ask, deceit for blind faith,
In this world of buyers and sellers, it's a more than fair deal,
If it will bring me comfort, then please, TV, tell me what's real.



Tell me a lie please, Mr. Politician, make me feel protected,
Weave those words that way that you do, so I don't feel neglected,
In this world where one can find the abuse of power everywhere,
I need your lies, I need them all, to convince myself you care.



Tell me a lie please, Mr. Facebook, I'm forgetting that I'm the best,
You know all the reasons why I'm sexier and smarter than the rest.
In this world where everything is either a game or a competition,
We need social-media to show us we're doing better than the opposition.



Tell me a lie please, Mr. Me, I need to feel better.
I can no longer find a purpose in this life of a debtor.
Money to the banks or favours to a friend, it appears I owe a lot,
In this culture of commerce it seems that everyone's after what I've got.



Tell me the truth please, anyone, I want to feel whole,
This world is so alien to me and I cannot find my role,
I only need for you to tell me what I'm to do,
When the lies are no longer convincing enough to be considered true.



This started as an entry to v4vapid's competition and morphed into something a tad deeper. I no longer believes it fits the criteria to be entered into the contest, but I felt it worth sharing. Feel free to suggest a title. I feel it deserves a good one.

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is really well written. This hit me too hard. The media is a very big manipulator of everything.

Thank you. I am glad it hit you hard, for I feel this is the point of poetry for me. Glad I could make you feel something.

I like how it sounds Untitled Poem but if you want to change its name I would say something like comforting lie would be pretty omay. Anyway, a name you would chose will be probably much better, I am not that good at poems or chosing names.

The original title was "The cult of commerce," but the direction of the poem changed as I began writing it, and by the end, the title no longer seemed to fit. I will save that for another.

Excellent Post Sir......
Resteemed.

This is a great poem, it provides an insightful critique of modern society. I upvoted. I posted a poem late last night about the issue of homelessness in our society. I was inspired to write it after learning that a homeless man froze to death on Christmas. It would mean a lot if you could check it out.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Sure. That's alright.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50