Emotional Poem: American Sidewalks

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A homeless man froze to death on Christmas, in Ohio. Upon hearing about this story, I was inspired to write this poem. Homelessness has always been an issue that I have cared about deeply, and I hope that this poem can help spread awareness about how action needs to be taken. We all have to take responsibility for the condition of our society and be an advocate for a better world. Thank you for your time.


American Sidewalks,
by Zach Levitan

He froze to death
on Christmas—
shivering, shaking,
alone.
He was not one of
dozens,
no, not one of
hundreds...
not merely thousands!
Shivering, shaking,
alone.
God bless America,
land that I love.
Watch as we pass them on
sidewalks,
laughing and stomping
on doves.
Keep our hands in our
pockets,
as we lust for our
profits.
Buy me an Iphone!
Take me to Broadway!
And then we'll walk home—
passing by them on
sidewalks,
I'll up-vote some posts!
While ignoring the
hundreds of thousands
with a cold street
as a host.


111109_wealth_gap_ap_328.jpg

Image Source

Sort:  

Truly, I do not completely understand homelessness. I come from Africa where there really can be no options when one is down on their luck and have no family willing to take you in. IN the UK, US, I always wonder what would have to happen for you to end up on the street. There are hostels and in the UK, there are government benefits.

I do hate the idea of someone freezing on the street - That is terrible! But why were they there?

Some will consider the thought and the words heartless but I want to understand more. And bless you for drawing attention to this issue. We live in a world where there is abundance, it is time these things stopped.

Thank you for expressing your interest in learning more. There are many reasons that people end up on the street. These reasons include: drug addiction, with no access to help; the loss of all possessions, and because of being dirty and not having a place to stay or means of transportation, not being a serious applicant for jobs. There are many other causes of homeless, including natural disasters, and the list goes on.

Thanks for writing about this. I've had some close friends who've found themselves living in tents around the fringes of town, even during the single-digit weather, and they kept me worried for a while until they were lucky enough to get rolling again.

Maybe with all of the good people like anarchists or voluntarists becoming wealthy on crypto coins, some real differences could be made here in the next few years to solve these issues.

I'm sorry to hear about the guy freezing, yet now, instead of being alone, he has all of us to comfort him with some warm compassion-- his death wasn't ignored completely.

It's awesome certainly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50