Used To (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


I used to skip shale across the canal
I remember how they flew
I used to dream so often
Now, I rarely do

I used to build waterfalls and rivers
Playing God with a bucket
I used to spend all day on the couch
And think nothing of it

I used to smile so freely
It came with such ease
I used to laugh at nothing
I was so easy to please

I used to create a thousand worlds
Always playing the hero
I used to watch time with such interest
It always appeared so slow

I used to think I’d never die
That I’d live forever
I used to think I knew it all
Now, I know so much better

I used to be a kid
A free-spirited child
I used to be so innocent
And let my heart go wild

I used to know the meaning of life
But it got lost in education
I used to think I was ready for this
Now I move on with hesitation


Notes: Another one of my ancient poems that was exploring that divide between childhood and adulthood. The ease of the earlier years and the clarity of purpose within them. Or, maybe it was not clarity, it was just a gentle indifference. You are enjoying the ride too much as a child to even consider the end destination. I hope you all enjoy.


Previous Posts

Crypto
Career
Creative
The Long Tail
An Engineer in Business School
complacency.
Before Bitcoin
Interviewing@Google
Lost Souls



Engineer Poet. Chicken Farmer MBA. Crypto-vestor. World Traveler.
Follow Me|| SomethingSubtle.com || New to Steem? || Minnow Support

Sort:  

nice poetry
upvoted 👍👍

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed.

This comment has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Maybe confused to a realization? A manifestation of making things up? It could be a lost of interest to everything the character has just passed. I think the character needs to keep on moving by giving a chance to see the real thing... Just my two cents.

Interesting points. Thank you for sharing!

So nice. Right that there are uncertainties in this world. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @somethingsubtle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Although I appreciate the upvote and review, must we really start upvoting bots now in order to get resteemed by bots?

Doesn't that destroy the community aspect of Steemit?

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 2.17 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @somethingsubtle. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 0.18 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52