Lost Souls (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago


I once walked with my Father every Sunday.
When other children filled wooden pews
listening to robed men and choral prayers,
I held my Father’s hand and we listened to the world.

He would let me choose a direction.
I liked South the best, if felt like going home.
On a rainy day, splashing in fire engine boots,
I once asked him if he was lost.
“We are all lost,” he replied solemnly,
“Everyone is just trying
to pretend
we know
where we are going.”

I didn’t quite know what he said,
but I knew what he meant.
Like listening to a Latin prayer,
you know its full of hope and mercy and doubt.


Notes: A simple tale of figuring out this life, or at least being comfortable with not figuring out at all. I enjoyed placing the formal vs the informal, the organic lessons vs the ritualized ones. If anything, it reminds me to go on more walks and let the world speak to me instead of from someone else just pretending to have figured it all out. I hope you enjoyed. Thank you for your time and attention.



Previous Posts

Crypto
Career
Creative
The Long Tail
An Engineer in Business School
complacency.
Before Bitcoin
Interviewing@Google
The New World



Engineer Poet. Chicken Farmer MBA. Crypto-vestor. World Traveler.
Follow Me|| SomethingSubtle.com || New to Steem? || Minnow Support

Sort:  

Meaningful words, nice poem. :)

Glad you enjoyed.

Sometimes only the bots read my work. I wonder what their favorite poetry is.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SomethingSubtle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 4.53 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @somethingsubtle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67659.20
ETH 3773.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55