I Don't Feel Lonely Until its Time For Bed

in #poetry6 years ago

fullsizeoutput_e0.jpeg

It’s the first night I’ve been alone in sometime.
A sense of freedom envelopes my spirit.
Walking hand in hand with loneliness. Insomnia ensues, but, not unwanted.
The night time is quiet. Responsibilities are silenced for now.
Daytime’s demands are somnolent in the shadows, don’t make a sound they sleep lightly.
The wind creeps down the mountain. Moving softly through the tall trees’ needles.
Gathering strength, building into a rush as if a waterfall roaring into the rocks below.
Distractions tug at my tired mind.
The prefrontal cortex losing its grip on the madness within.
Or, is it genius?
Exhaustion sets in motion the lowering of the gates so to speak.
A world of understanding, comprehension, imagination…
un-hindered imagination.
The likes of which we experienced only as children.
Before the law of social order forced us to build a wall brick by brick.
Though, a wall is not the right metaphor. It’s a barrier; living, breathing.
And as night grows long the barricade weakens, allowing sub conscious thought to slip into the conscious mind like a warm blanket comforting a shivering body.
My bed is calling. I look to its’ comfort and warmth longingly.
But this is my chance.
I can’t enjoy peace and quiet if I’m sleeping.
I can’t rejuvenate my soul if I’m sleeping.

Sort:  

FOLLOW⇆BACK⇉@a-0-0

Congratulations @smillerton! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @smillerton! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67421.43
ETH 3217.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66