Not Sharing is Caring

in #poetry7 years ago

isaiah-rustad-527168.jpg
Image Credit

I will tell you a story of how much love can hurt, but not today.
I will speak to you of porcupines and quills and their stories,
of honeybees and hives and their stories,
of men and women and children,
of simple day-to-day stories,
but not today.

Today I choose to talk only to myself on this page
this is me caring for me, me saying no
when no isn't easily welcomed, me stating truth
when truth isn't easily believed
even in the mirror where the stains
are showing.

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

APP.png

Sort:  

I love the simplicity yet profoundness of this. The part that caught me was the part about saying no even when it’s not welcomed and speaking truth even when it isn’t believed easily. This resounds with me as I have often struggled to say no to the needs of others and just focus on loving myself. But this is so important. The way you described how hard is to see and accept the truth sometimes, even when it’s staring us right in the face. Thank you for sharing this.

What stood out for me in this poem is the picture, like it shuts you out but her eyes draw you in. great poem!

Very good... )

Here's some team guy power, throwing some support your way. :)

Heartfelt poetic words that I can absolutely relate to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45