ADOLESCENT NOSTALGIA (An Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago

147562358463122366b.gif


Remember the boats of oak leaves we made?
We laughed watching them flow along the river,
walking to school; playing with snow...
That was when we were little kids,
can you remember?

Sitting in a backyard caressing under the moon,
waiting for my cousin to get there;
watering the terrace, having my first thoughts...
That was growing up,
I do remember.

Seating on the sill with the sun, smoking a cigarette,
the almond-tree dancing with the wind;
walking the dog in hope you will hear me...
That felt so grown up,
why do I remember?

Walking alone from school in the heat,
thinking in which corner we will have a drink;
passing the rose bush; its aromas intense...
That was a while ago,
I can remember.

Getting laced and flirting away,
being drunk in a pub; discussing our life;
sitting outside on the swings with a bottle of wine...
That happened some years ago,
it's great to remember.

Getting the dull train to school,
thinking about the world; revising for my exams;
wasting the break time behind the gates...
That seems like yesterday,
I will remember.

Walking to college and the barking dog;
how great was life because you were with me;
sitting by the window - remembering away...
That time went past,
I don't have to remember.


Image Credit - Edited Here

Follow me @serejandmyself for more

Visit my personal webiste

Sort:  

Wonderful! It incites memories of my own.

Glad you enjoyed it Matthew!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13