Lovely Poetry #32 - "Birthday Cake" (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

audrey-fretz-497611-unsplash.jpg
Source

Birthday Cake

Despite the moody sky,
eight minutes past middle of the night,
the stars have graced up high,
a celebration of twenty and two years of my life.

And you a stranger, but a jive
by destiny to my quiet life
have filled the noise with my mind
with sonnets and proses
of love and music and life.

How can you look at me
and strip me down to bare?
Some things that others can’t see,
some scars and treasures I cannot share.

Are you just a phantom,
an apparition of my desire?
Or will you stay with me forever
to blow each candles every single time.

decorative-1221422_960_720.png

Previous Poems:

Imaginary City
Nostalgic
His Hands

Poem Collection:

Lovely Poetry Series Vol. I


About @reewritesthings:

Ree is a twenty-two-year-old Cebuana who lives in the Pearl of the Orient Seas. She spends most of her free time having her head buried in a book, watching movies, learning modern calligraphy and writing poems. Also, a lover of science and engineering.


Divider Source

Sort:  

this is really lovely @reewritesthings, it is amazing when we connect with someone and they seem to really see us for who we are, you really captured that here, well done.

Thank you so much @trucklife-family! I agree with what you said about connecting with someone. Thanks for reading! :)

Beautifully done, and a lovely tribute to finally being truly seen by one who matters.
Excellent poem, my friend. ;-)

Thank you so much Cori! Glad you like it! :)

Today is your birthday? Happy birthday!

Nope it's not haha. I was actually inspired by someone's birthday. I was born on a leap year. :)

Owww. I see. Sayopa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29