[Poem] Horsepower

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Horsepower.png

The horses under my hood are wild with go,
And I can feel the cylinders low
And rumbling like my tires on the road.
They pump out the miles I sow.
I can hear it all because the radio
Quit a few thousand turns ago.
Oh, let that internal combustion flow
Like a ragged piece of my own soul
Down this mother road
From California all the way home.
The horses under my hood run wild with go.

©ACMF

About This

I wrote this poem in October of 2013. I was working 3rd Shift at the time monitoring commercial and residential security systems. I had a 1997 Nissan Maxima. The car was a beater, and that's being kind. However, it ran well and had a lot of pep. At one point, it had been a really nice car and someone just trashed it. I came along and scooped it up because I could afford it and needed a car.

It had gremlins. The radio only worked when it felt like it. The car came standard with Bose speakers, so when it did work, it was Ah-MAZING. The AC also didn't work, so I'd fly I-40 at 70mph with the window cracked. I wrote that poem ^^^ in my head on the way to work one night.

800px-Interstate40_map.png

If you're not familiar with U.S. geography, I-40 runs some of the same route of the famous Route 66 ending in California. I'm in North Carolina, and it's a mainstay around here for a fast commute between neighboring towns. I drove it home from Las Vegas in 2009 after living out there for 4.5 years.

Route 66 is iconic....I-40 is Nouveau Iconic. <--- I'm coining a term. You saw it here first, kids.

Check Out Today's Writing Prompt

I shared this to go with today's writing prompt. If you enjoy writing, check out my daily writing prompts exclusive to Steemit. I share these from my brain. - https://steemit.com/writing/@quietdeluxe/your-daily-writing-prompt-from-quietdeluxe-16

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the poem.


@quietdeluxe

DQm_XB9a_F8_Ze_QAEgs_Hb_Lu8_Zi_HCr_PTruj_Qp3_YMHZyk_KGi_Boyx.png

Sort:  

Nouveau iconic. LOL That 's great. I lived in the US for 16 years and road tripped all over. I drove all over New Mexico to the pueblos by myself in my 20s. I had a Chevy Nova that was such a piece of junk that once in the middle of the intersection the car stopped and the entire steering wheel unit fell into my lap. I stuck it back on, restarted my car and kept going...

Nova....that's like one of the classics the car enthusiasts restore these days. In fact, one of my neighbors had one for quite a while...on blocks. I'm a Ford girl when it comes to American cars, but prefer the reliability of Asian models over beauty and status.

Thanks for your comment!

Oh no. Mine wasn't a classic. It was a piece of junk. Chevrolet...nothin' fancy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44