What My Child With Autism Taught Me (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago


Image Source

Indeed my child with autism
You have taught me so much
That our lives are so precious
We need to live to the fullest
As each day unfolds

I have learned so much
That happiness is within my hand
I have discovered what matters to me most
To be grateful for what we have
And to experience joy in the simpler things of life

I have learned to be
More loving, patient and compassionate
To be more accepting and understanding of those who are different
You have pushed me to become
More of what I can be

My life has become more meaningful
From what I have learned
I have developed and grown so much
For you have build and mould my character
And I have finally emerged a stronger and better person

About This Poem

Living with my autistic son is not easy and at times it can be outright stressful. Things like a trip to a mall which most people considered as a normal or routine event, can turn ugly if Jonathan has a meltdown. Coping was initially very hard and I must admit at the beginning, I tend to consider Jonathan more of a burden. As days and months go by, I begin to understand Jonathan more, our family was able to make adjustments to our lives to accommodate Jonathan and his special needs. As I looked back, I realized that I have grown so much because of Jonathan. In fact, I can say who I am today, a lot of it is due to my journey with Jonathan. Through it all, the reality is that I have received so much blessings in return.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Positive Vibes Daily Challenge: Update As At January 2018
Positive Vibes Daily Challenge Gratitude Sunday: Thank You Steemit, Goodbye Facebook (My Post Just Earned Me Ringgit Malaysia 2,600)
Positive Vibes Daily Challenge Love Saturday: Self-Love
Positive Vibes Daily Challenge Hope Friday: My Hopes For My Autistic Son Jonathan
Positive Vibes Daily Challenge Adventure Thursday: From Probabilities To Possibilities, Go And Have An Adventure

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Poetry is very deep and touching my heart. You are so creative. I thought you're only a motivational speaker but you are a poet too. That's Great! STEEM ON such a great piece of content.

I heard all the poets produce a great piece of poetry when they are facing some relevant situation that's what I see in your about post. 😉

I also loved reading and writing poems. This poem is very personal and meaningful to me as it is based on my own experience.

Yeah, it seems by reading your post. :)

Very touchy sentences on your poetry. Million thanks @positivesteem for sharing.

You are most welcome. I love reading and writing poetry. I do hope that you can join me in the positive vibes daily challenge to spread positivity here at Steemit.

My great pleasure :-)

This poem of yours is really touching my heart! There s so much happiness and pain at the same time in it... at least I think so. Hope you and your family are doing fine!

It has been a bitter sweet journey. But at the end of it, I feel deeply that I have been blessed more.

Poems can paint a picture in our minds. They can also make us feel a certain way. Poetry was originally recited, or spoken aloud, to an audience. There are many different types of poetry, and the earliest, called epic poems, date back thousands of years.

You sure know a lot about poems. For me, poems are how I communicate my feelings and my stories. I am glad that you enjoy reading it. Do take part in the positive vibes daily challenge.

Lovely poem.
I can relate to every word on my own personal level.

Thank you so much. I am sure that you have been through some of this, we are on a bitter sweet journey with both tears and smiles. I hope that through my sharing other parents will know that they are not alone in their struggles.

It is a lonely road until you realise that there are others walking the same path.

A parent support group is very important This is where we can support one another or just to have a listening ear.

great poem i really like poetry share poem like this @postivesteem

Do feel free to re-steem the poetry. Thanks for dropping by.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Are you the salesman.

I am selling positvity

Really, how much do you want for it.

Good article! We are linking to this great content on our site. Keep up the good writing. Thank You!

Thank you for your encouragement. Good content is what keeps Steemit going. Looking forward to your participation.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 13.19% vote... I was summoned by @positivesteem! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82