SteemitPoetryContest #13: A Life Lesson

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

SteemitPoetryContest #13: A Life Lesson

Their lips are bold red
chanting ungodly seductions,
you are charmed under their spell,
like a slave, obey their instructions.

In front of them, you kneel,
like a starving dog, drooling,
your sloppy tongue is poking out
unprepared for this schooling.

They teach you with their harsher
ways, your greed results in pain:
under you, they cast the wrath
of a fire unextinguishable by rain.


Image Source

This is an original poem, written as an entry for the Steemit Poetry Contest #13. I am not usually one to rhyme, so I spent a lot of time rewriting and editing until it reached this stage. I hope it was worth the effort. Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Wow, brutal and seductive... these are some dark witches!

I know, rhymes are not usually my thing in poetry either... but I did have fun with this contest and ended up being glad for the rhyme requirement, it pushed my envelope.

I think you did a brilliant job with the rhymes. These would make awesome heavy metal lyrics!

thank you! I cannot say I did not struggle. Especially at the second stanza. I kept restructuring it and rewriting it until something actually rhymed. I cannot believe people do ABAB or AABB rhymes. they're even harder and would make me sweat so much. It is good though, that it pushes our envelopes - we grow that way.

Thank you. And for the heavy metal lyrics... not too familiar with the genre, but if anyone wants to turn it into music, feel free lol

scary witches
I hope I'll never get involved with them :D

As long as you don't get too greedy, you should be fine :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64375.18
ETH 2615.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85