Lullaby (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

Lullaby

Between us:
rock; soil; ocean; magma.

I will endure all these miles;
to hold your hands in mine
like we did last night
in my sweetest dream.

The fragrance of your neck
is hypnotic;
your voice - a lullaby.

Dreams depict reality -
the past and the future -
accurately; like a meteorologist
predicting tomorrow's weather.

When did being awake
become less real
than being asleep?


Courtesy of Pexels

Inspired by yesterday's freewrite, Dreams.


Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord



The Isle of Write logo was designed by @PegasusPhysics

Join the Steem Poets United on Discord


Sort:  

Jeremy! Wow. This is a great poem. I was scouring my feed for examples of abstraction, and I hovered over each stanza with the initial "ahah! of finding one, only to be stymied. Each stanza does a masterful job of lacing complex thoughts to grounded images. Amazing!

I honestly love each stanza, but the most shocking joyful one was,

Dreams depict reality -
the past and the future -
accurately; like a meteorologist
predicting tomorrow's weather.

Wow! I love that the meteorologist predicts tomorrow's weather like dreams predict the future; sometimes accurate, sometimes flawed, but always attempting to wrangle the sheer weight of variables to produce some cohesive whole.

Whoever the speaker is writing to, seperated from, I hope they got this poem, because wow. It is excellent.

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you!! I will definitely share it with whom it was written for ;) Long-distance ain't easy. Dreams tend to feel more realistic than life at times.

I love how honest and descriptive you are in the comments.

I was scouring my feed for examples of abstraction, and I hovered over each stanza with the initial "ahah! of finding one, only to be stymied.

That's the best compliment! I have a history of using too many abstract thoughts without grounding them - so I am glad that I am managing to deal with my own weaknesses :D

Why I keep on seeing volcano-inspired posts today?
Steem Poets United looks like something I should take a look at.

It's quite a friendly community, with a lot of newcomers there.
And hmm... I would not say this is volcano inspired. Just one tiny little mention of magma :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poetrybyjeremy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38