You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lullaby (Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

Jeremy! Wow. This is a great poem. I was scouring my feed for examples of abstraction, and I hovered over each stanza with the initial "ahah! of finding one, only to be stymied. Each stanza does a masterful job of lacing complex thoughts to grounded images. Amazing!

I honestly love each stanza, but the most shocking joyful one was,

Dreams depict reality -
the past and the future -
accurately; like a meteorologist
predicting tomorrow's weather.

Wow! I love that the meteorologist predicts tomorrow's weather like dreams predict the future; sometimes accurate, sometimes flawed, but always attempting to wrangle the sheer weight of variables to produce some cohesive whole.

Whoever the speaker is writing to, seperated from, I hope they got this poem, because wow. It is excellent.

Thank you for sharing!

Sort:  

Thank you!! I will definitely share it with whom it was written for ;) Long-distance ain't easy. Dreams tend to feel more realistic than life at times.

I love how honest and descriptive you are in the comments.

I was scouring my feed for examples of abstraction, and I hovered over each stanza with the initial "ahah! of finding one, only to be stymied.

That's the best compliment! I have a history of using too many abstract thoughts without grounding them - so I am glad that I am managing to deal with my own weaknesses :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56