I am... Broken (Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago

abandoned-aged-architecture-209170.jpg

Image Source: Pexels

I am... Broken

You slammed the door
in the middle of the night.
On the floor lay
scattered pieces.

Alone in a shroud of dust,
coughing; I feel lost.

Tears landing onto mud;
without a proper goodbye
you left me to suffer
in this chaos.

I feel fragile.

I feel weak.

Through my water-filled eyes,
a blurred vision
of a mirror:

the walls around my heart
have collapsed;
you only broke
my weaknesses.




My new poetry collection, Welcome to the Sombre Days, is published as paperback on Amazon and ebook on Kindle. Each day, I am sharing another poem from the book on Steemit. ere are some of the announcements and latest poems from the book:

Welcome to the Sombre Days

Announcement & Forward
Book Release

Latest Poems

Beasts Dressed in Suits
Whispers
Wrong Batch


IOW COLOR MAP.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


lgbtbanner7.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Wow..... Jeremy.... This is a touching poem.

I feel fragile.
I feel weak.
......
you only broke
my weaknesses.

The uniqueness I found in your piece is from two points .... First point.... the way you played around with words, trying to appear weak in your first few lines but showing your true state at the last line.
Secondly, this experience instead of breaking off your strength, it broke your weakness.... You are an extra unit stronger.

There is no denying that I am different, but that does not mean I'm worse off. We surround ourselves with walls and protection, and although they make us feel more comfortable, at times they are only weaknesses and hinder us from our true selves - and luckily, that's all that was broken.

Thank you for the comment! One of the best comments I have received :)

Have a nice day my friend @poetrybyjeremy

Thank you! You too have a nice day :)

I love your choice of words. This is cool though but I Likkie @poetrybyjeremy

The poem is really beautiful if not depressing. Yet, this feeling is something most of us experienced. Thanks for the poem.

Depressing feelings are part of life, and it should not be valued any less positively. We can move on in life, but embracing the darker moments are essential - burying them never helps in the long run.

this is a great article, you sing the talent in making an expensive article. I like this. do not forget you vote back account 👉👉 @ muhibbbuttabri beautiful sharing. Good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70