POET TREE - Today I Planted a Poet Tree - Based on a True Story

in #poetry8 years ago

Today I planted a POET TREE and even wrote a poem about it.



MY POET TREE



Today I planted a Poet Tree
Up on a hill, so all could see
For generations to come and use
When it's time to write and muse

To rest their souls beneath its shade
And contemplate the rhymes they've made
To gather oft with minstrels there
Put pens to page, their prose to share

To think, revise, and make words fit
To jest and joke and test their wit
To hear what's new and reminisce
Beneath the tree, it's poet's bliss

Sit by the trunk, 'til you've had your fill
Of other poet's linguistic skill
A sonnet or haiku they'll bring
A rhyme to write or song to sing

To write with us a verse for them
To scribe a jewel and ink a gem
To manifest the wondrous art
As every poet plays their part

A wild place where minds are free
To dream a dream and choose to be
Upon the earth to reconnect
With such things we'd oft neglect

The writers of things strange to me
That vary from my reality
Someday such things we'll surely see
Beneath this growing Poet Tree



The concept for this tree came about a few months ago when a friend’s mother came to visit. A poet herself, she indirectly inspired this idea. Since poetry sounds the same as "Poet Tree", I thought that perhaps I such plant such a thing. A tree, planted specifically for the poets and writers and singers and such. A place for witty banter and fantastic stories, for rhymes and reason and the loss of oneself. A wild and free environment in which imaginations can run wild and full throttle. I told my friend that I would be planting a "Poet Tree" in honor of his mother. Whether he believed me or not, today I planted that tree with my oldest daughter.

I'm grateful to both my friend's mother (for inspiring) and to steemit (for allowing me to share).
My favorite lines are "To scribe a jewel and ink a gem" & "Put pens to page, their prose to share".

We will see what becomes of the POET TREE.




proof-I-planted-a-poet-tree

Sort:  

I actually like this.

More seems to me like rap lyrics, but what is rap but poetry?

Very understandble message to all

Thank you for the compliment. As a lyricist my words have spanned a broad spectrum of mediums, and rap has definitely been on the list.

Love reading poems, especially before bed time, it calms me down :) thanks for sharing! Alla x

I hear, you make the the best food on steemit.

heheh I will agree with that :P

This is the best thing I've seen on here to date. Reminds me of the faery bushes of Ireland - a lone tree or bush representing the faery world down beneath its roots. Not to mention Brighid, goddess (and poet) of the Gael. I also write poetry with meter and rhyme - so nice to see it done well here on Steemit!

WOW! Now that is a compliment. We will see what others think. The idea was created a while ago and the poem poured out yesterday. I'm glad it's appreciated. I like it because it combines the fanciful fantasy of what could be with a tangible representation upon the earth, manifested in the actual "Poet Tree". I think that it brings reality and possibility together in a way that many poems being shared right now do not, so the whole concept is special to me. Thanks very much for your kind words and encouragement!

Thanks @crytoiskey! Did you and your son check out the video for the @papa-pepper song yet? If not, HERE'S THE LINK

Indeed, planting new life both in the earth and in the mind.
Muchas Gracias!

I sincerely wish you great success

I love everything you're doing @pappa-pepper. Thanks for all the great content. Did your reputation score bounce up recently?

It has gone up steadily from 62 to 63 to 64 now. I think when the new numbers came out a week or more ago I was at a 62. I forget what I was under the old single digit system, but I think it was a 7.

Thanks for the compliment and encouragement.

You deserve it! Thank you.

I like your "poet-tree"! But remember, "Don't forget to build a fence, or thou shalt wait awake and tense, while deer and moose they come to see, and nibble at our poet-tree"!

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

A timely rhyme to put in mind good advice I shall heed thine.

I guess the johnny appleseed crack wasn't so far off!

C'mon you crazy Texan! And yet, I know you're right about that.

Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Why thank you. I rather enjoyed it myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54