Rope :: Poem #twbpoetrycontest

in #poetry6 years ago

Rope.jpg

Made on Canva. Image source: Sweetlouise on Pixabay

Rope,

please let me go
don't hold me back
bobbing up and down
as if nothing matters

I too have
places to go
friends to meet
mistakes to make

I was made to brave
this storm--but you
tie me to your fate
please let me go

~ canoe

=====

About this poem

This poem is written based on a thought-provoking prompt for the TWB Poetry Contest 6:
"A small canoe tied to a pier, bobbing in the water under almost stormy skies." #twbpoetrycontest

But it is also written as a response to some things I have experienced lately. People I have met, situations I have been made aware of, that make my heart brake because of the resilience these young people show in the face of large storms. And how they are tied back by a system that is supposed to help them. It is a harsh world, in which I would like that canoe to be able to brave the storm on their own. Because a rope can have many different functions. Let's make sure it is not used to tie people to a place their cannot flourish.

@nobyeni.png

Here is an overview of more fiction/short stories and poetry by @nobyeni.

Sort:  

Canoe,
You keep me taut,
my two ends dry

without your prow
to hold in knots

I fear I'd sink
far out of sight

~rope
p.s. i <3 you


There's always two sides to any relationship haha. I know you said that the rope represents being held back by the powers that be, but, well, I just felt sorry for it and got inspired ;) Thanks for the great read and best of luck in the contest!

but you
tie me to your fate

this poem as a small picture reflective of a big picture world is one of the aspects that most attracts me to poetry - pieces that live in the context of their moment and world.

Thanks Carmalain. It's also what attracts me to poetry, although I'm normally more about the abstract stuff, but @damianjayclay has been teaching me and now I'm not sure I can ever fully go back to the abstraction I love as well... Well, maybe it'll pass, but I'm very happy you like what I'm trying to do.

Your poetry invites all of us to hear the sounds of canoe. I guess its means reflection 'human needs the freedom'
By the way, I have poetry for the contest. Maybe you want to give me feedback. Thanks
https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/destiny-writers-block-poetry-contest-week-6

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Hello nobyeni! Thanks for sharing. Keep writing good quality content and let's grow the community together.

This is a SPAM comment and even though you mention you want to grow the community, this comment does the opposite. So stop this immediately.

I will check your account tomorrow, and if I see you've continued with this, I will start flagging your comments.

Ok, I have now flagged quite some of your posts from today. You are really a pathetic account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.72
ETH 3279.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67