Working Title (Poetry Curation for Minnow Support)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Still going to go with "Working Title". I'm starting to like it now.

Emergency room Deja Vu
Empath void, dosed with judgement,
Afraid to go afraid to not
Attended though reluctant.

Reality's Calamity by @girlbeforemirror is a reminder of what it is to live with a chronic illness- the lack of hope for a cure, the constant hospitalization, the fight to be positive when everything hurts. I especially like the lines where she explores how other people treat those with an illness that few can see.

In the waiting caverns within my chest,
an over-ripe fruit hangs,
spreading corruption.

@geekorner makes masterful use of the extended metaphor in Six Bullets to Love to communicate the lost possibility of love, and the weakness that comes from "the devastating vulnerability of the one who loves (more)" (as @yahialababidi commented).

please let me go
don't hold me back
bobbing up and down
as if nothing matters

Rope by @nobyeni reminds me of the ties that bind- and the wish to be released from them. Beautiful and yet succinct. I like how it appears to be addressed to the metaphorical rope itself.

Hosai wrote this when he was living in Tokyo, a handful of years before his withdrawal from life and mostly self-imposed isolation at Suma Temple. It was a happier time when he still hoped for success with his wife.

Rather than ruining @dbooster's A Child's Hand haiku, I included his information as the pull quote. Dbooster is a master of japanese-style poetry, and I especially love his translations of haiku.

Both my hands
are on you
not fiddling with
settings or shutters

Be Here by @doghaus is a reminder to be present in the moment- not to allow a camera or a phone to come between you and actually being there for the people you care about. I love how he emphasizes the experience over the attempt to capture a memory.


mspgif.gif



Images and pull quotes are property of their respective authors
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Thank you for the support and appreciation, Sun! And thank you, as always, for taking time to ply the seas of Steemit and bring us all these poems.

I have noticed that separation, or ties that bind (and hurt), are a theme in this week's selection. Something in the water?

I am once again honoured to be among the talent posted above. Thank you again @sunravelme for your support of poetry and just being you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99