Starman

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

A tribute in memoriam to David Bowie R.I.P. (8 January 1947 – 10 January 2016)

067ab65a1d94a3d553b2634f9db90496.jpg
Image Source

The Starman has taken flight,
Broken the bonds of earth
Set sail toward Heaven’s height

And the stars look very different today1
Our imagination’s a bit lonelier
Now our shining Starman has gone away

There’s a Starman waiting in the sky2
Each psychedelic tear’s a rainbow
Falling now from our lonely mind’s eye

Tell my *world I love her very much **earth knows1
The Starman painted with his inspiration
Ever ‘pon us his kaleidoscopic vision bestows

Dancing dreams of what more may be
The stars are never far away3
And the Starman will always fly free

Through the kingdom of the ghost4
Leaving words with something to say
Starman’s shredding with a ghostly host

We’re not ready to let go, we say
Let him sail back *to-us tonight4
But, Major Tom led him home today

1 Space Oddity 1969
2 Starman 1972
           *original: “wife”
           **orginal: “she”
3 Stars (are out tonight) 2013
4 Dancing Out In Space 2013
           *original: “home”

© 11 January 2016, by D. Denise Dianaty
Sort:  

Looks like only david bowie that i have listened to is "Heroes". Stranger things introduced it to me.

I’m sure you’ve listened to more Bowie than that. Several of his albums are available on YouTube.

Still cannot believe that he is no longer around. He has always been my favourite artist and will always be :(

He was always one of my favorites too. His is one of the voices that are in the soundtrack of my life.

Yes, I think that is a wonderful metaphor :)

Loved the man a great artist of music :)

Me too. He was one of those musicians whose music became part of the soundtrack to my life.

You are certainly right they bring back parts of our good memories :)

Great artist and entertainer

He was one of the best. His Art transcended the norm and changed the way we think about music. He helped broaden our minds intellectually, musically, and artistically.

He was unparalleled. As you liked my poem, I’d really appreciate your upvote too.

Probably from another planet.... super human

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ya never know. After all, he was the “Starman.”

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @momzillanc! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks. Are there Bowie songs that fit in the would-be-soundtrack of your life? If I think of big events in my life, so much of his music – ass well a Queen’s and the Beatles’ – feature in what I would call the soundtrack of my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74