Words Unspoken (Original Spoken Word poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

dictionary-1619740_1920.jpg
Image credit, Pixabay.com

https://soundcloud.com/user-186900529/words-unspoken

Words Unspoken

If I could take all these words
left unspoken for so long
And put them in a song,
I can only imagine
how wrong it would sound.

See, thoughts this profound
can't be confined in sonic properties
So, I offer these insufficient phrases
instead of what I should have said
still leaving those words unspoken
knowing your heart was broke when

I remained silent

but sometimes I violently
try to eject what I feel
and what I spill
is something altogether different
distant from what I was intending,
ending in turmoil what was conceived in love
and above it all
is this pain,
That's felt when words fall
from the tip of my tongue
never having the chance to fly
why must this happen at all the worst times
like the first time
I gazed into those deep blue eyes
and realized
that this
was the beginning of a forever
that I never dreamed
I could've screamed
but throat closed up
choking the words that rose up
so unspoken they remained
but I was for ever changed
as I began to die
so, WE could begin to live
what I wouldn't give
to be able to tell you
what I felt at that very moment
that scary moment
when everything was so right that it almost seemed wrong
You can't put that in a song
Because it belongs in a soul
and no melody ever played
could portray the way
that loving you
sticks to my insides
or how the tides of emotion
swell like the ocean
but quell at the notion of spilling
through words unfulfilling
and all feelings aside
I tried and try
Because I still believe
That with you by my side
I'd write volumes of poetry too deep for any book
If it took a million words
with a million tears
for a million years
I'd sit right here
And tell it
I'd yell it
from the top of my lungs
down to the bottom of my
very
last
breath
Till I knew
there wasn't one
single
word
left...

unspoken


If you like this, check out some of my other stuff.

The King of Steem - a contest entry

The Truth - Spoken Word about political truths...and lies.

If words could kill - poem about speech and my take on the NAP

Sort:  

This is what I consider to be one of my best poems. All of my best poems are about the things that matter most to me: My wife, my children and our extended family. Well, that and I also complain a lot. Thanks for reading this.

Congratulations @moeknows! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.null

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23