own two feet // poetry

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-07-29 at 11.44.34 AM.png

im standing
on my own two feet

my two feet protected by
my worn down shoes
with the faded blues
that carry me across crowded streets
past crowded stores where
people shuffle in and out
folding their receipts
while inspecting their new purchases
like it's the most important thing
in the world
not even thinking of other routes
they could take
other than the same weary routine
every day
wake up
go to work
make money
every day it's the same

i don't know if it's a quirk
of some weird brain eccentricity
but basically
i don't want to walk
that same dreary road
living my life in a haze
wasting my life as days pass
leaving me behind
with an empty glass

but i know that
i can go anywhere in life
as long as i stay
on my own two feet

-livi

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

An amazing piece! I enjoyed the read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50