Depressed

in #poetry6 years ago

image

Can no one see this smile I'm faking,
See how, inside, I'm constantly shaking?
These people all claim they know me well,
Yet no one can see through my crumbling shell?

"I'm fine", I whisper, my sadness unknown,
They leave me to deal with this anguish alone.
I've hidden behind this wall most of my life,
I've managed so far, I've dealt with my strife.
Watching as, slowly, my blood leaks away,
It helps to keep life's true horrors at bay.

I pull down my sleeve to cover my hurt,
For approaching footsteps, I'm on the alert.
I guess my pretense is just all too real,
No one has to know of the pain that I feel.
The real me inside, where no one can see,
I can fool everyone else, why can't I fool me?

Sort:  

Beautiful poem. I can definitely relate. Sadly, I think most people are wearing some kind of mask or another. We all secretly fear being known for who we really are. Maintaining this masks takes so much energy that it often blinds people to see the suffering of others.

Watching as, slowly, my blood leaks away,
It helps to keep life's true horrors at bay.

Very powerful line. Thank you for sharing your vulnerability. It has blessed me.

You're welcome. I'm happy you like the poem... No matter what we have to overcome our fears and become the tough person we have to be

Look in the mirror and Smile, silly?, yes, so laugh at your self. Be happy!
images

Of course I will be happy... Life's too short to be sad... But it could be really hard sometimes to stay happy

Beautiful poem, full of emotions and very intense. The rhymes make it flow so easily. I loved the stanza: "my blood leaks away, / It helps to keep life's true horrors at bay" which was very powerful.

I'm so glad you like it... Thanks

Another nice piece thanks for sharing :) God Bless. Peace and Love.

Very relatable... Good capture of "the wall" that we sometimes put up to protect ourselves. It's just that at some point it becomes contra productive. Break down the walls and let the sun love your face!

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #21 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

Sent shivers down my spine, I've known people that self hurt, people very dear to me... Great poem.

Thanks... I hope they are able to get over what's making them hurt

This was well-written. There are not many words I can use to describe or compliment this. I used to suffer from depression, but it is surprising how true these words are.

Yet no one can see through my crumbling shell?

Quite powerful.

I have liked this so much that I decided to feature it in the first-ever "The Best Poems of the Week" - exclusive for the poems tagged with #poetsunited.

Read more about it on The Best Poems of The Week: 1st Edition

Thanks very much... Depression is something that we must do away with... No matter how life gets, we must be determined to face it

yes, we must face it with determination. I am proud to say that after a two-year harsh battle with depression, I'm now doing much better. I wish that everyone who suffers from depression manages to get through it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70153.57
ETH 3783.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72