Helping @papa-pepper rhyme! Minnow Life Song and Chance to win steem!

in #poetry8 years ago

Sometimes it's nice to mix it up and take a break from cooking, writing and being a Scottish madman. So when I saw @papa-peppers post here immediately I thought, cor that chap has a million ideas and I love every one of them!

I thought I would pull out the old neglected Ibanez from behind the couch. It was banished there so that it couldn't harm my daughter. Obviously, it has a dark and menacing demeanour so I don't blame my better half for being wary of its snarling ways. Couple it up with a Mini Marshall stack, hmm seems familiar!

Now, I sound a little like a Scottish tramp with a rat in his mouth so I have detailed the lyrics for two verses underneath the frankly incredible performance given by someone who looks astonishingly like me.

@papa-pepper (my transatlantic twin) kicked it off with the following

You know it's hard out there for a minnow,
Because it's hard out there in the sea.
With all these other fish swimming around,
How's anybody ever gonna notice me?

A friend told me that I should join steemit,
So now I'm working hard to make it everyday.
I even try to steemit like I mean it,
Because I've heard that it's the only way.

I didn't have a tune to go on so had to whip one up. So I added a couple of verses and here we are.

I only hope that soon,
I'm earning dollars and not cents
Cos how am I gonna pay my bills?
How am I gonna pay my rent?

Some say its scam
or we're going to the moon
I just wanna
get off the ground real soon!

Repeat as desired

Anyway. Forgive the guitar solo at the end, I can be awfully self indulgent ;o)

STEEM ON!!

Note: if you are a minnow and you have gotten this far it might interest you to know that there are two hidden contests in this post worth 10 steem each! If you think you know what the answer is, bang it in the comments and 10 steem could be yours!!

Sort:  

Hahaha ... great stuff love it... nothing better than a community member doing something like that. Vulnerability, Humor, and creativity. Bravo.

Hehe, cheers man, appreciate it!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.99 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I ran in a posse in my younger days. I have some interesting and well known connections to hip hop.

See anyone you recognize in this video? And several connections to my ideas here.

Language warning

I watched it but couldn't see anyone I recognised! Who did I miss?

me lol

also my bullhorn that is legendary in the political protest scene used by Mike (Mic) -- I am the guy in the NITE scenes in the suit over Mic's shoulder.

  • many of these people I'd not seen for years and years, since high school. Mic's videos often get heavy rotation on MuchMusic here in Canadastan --- our version of your (the USA) -- of MTV etc.

At the 2:23 mark, if you pause this --- you can see me with one of the red shirts standing up for Oshawa jobs and the middle class and labour. Mike was true to his word and left that in the video to stand beside me on that cause.

HA, I sees ya. That's fantastic man!

Sweet riff at the end for sure.

I noticed some minor typos here, do we get points for noticing those LOL.

Hahahahaha, oh the ending. I am still laughing! I ain't gonna give away the answer till the post is done, maybe bang another day on top. Keeps the mystique going! lol

I am thinking you guys are looking for a community collab. effort and without saying it, hoping others will join in. I am not sure if I am right but we know I need the Steem, I relate to some lyrics in here today, more than you know.


It was in the dark of the sea, in 2-tone blue and white
that I noticed the Steemit logo, shining like a beacon in the nite

I reached out to grab the brass ring of the Crypto world,
whose heart started to beat in the state of Virginia we are told

And when I looked up, the whales were all around me. It was cold, cold cold.

We have the future, the present and the past. The community is the focus, I kept crying... kept trying.....feeling most days like I am dead last

Trying to earn some Steem, to pave the way, for a brighter day,

And like a Proverb....... the dolphins and minnows lifted me up / they showed the class.

// selah.


Barry Dutton / 5:20 pm EST
2-9-2017

Done with no bars written in many many many years so that is super rough and I am not feeling very well or creative these days brethren.

Some nice rhymes there! You should be walloping them up on papa-p's post!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69