"Ocean" | Poems, 011

in #poetry6 years ago

Ocean

 
The endless ocean surrounds me,
At times calm, often stormy,
Surrendering to its wisdom,
I feel suddenly invincible.
 
It knows my vast path,
And laughs at my plans,
Though not unkindly.
 
I feel content,
To face its challenges,
And play its games,
Because this is all there is.
 
divider.jpg



I actually skipped three poems that I wrote before this one... "And Her Eyes Spoke to Me", "Her", and "Promise" ... They are all deeply personal and also, there are parts in them of self-deception that I only now perceive, so I'd rather just not share them... At least not today.
 
Ocean was written just before I set out with her, after we were engaged, to go work in a hotel, which was going to be the beginning of our life together in the hospitality industry. I know now that I could never work in that area... I just can't stand making plastic smiley faces at people. It's truly an art, to appear sincere at any time... Just not the kind of art I have any talent for.
 
As for the ocean... Lots of unpredictable currents and waves that send you off in directions you'd never have imagined... But I'm still playing its games, because truly, this really is all there is.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
Gods, Consciousness and Free Will | Why "Mandelsage"? | "Cocoaflake" - Gallery: Motifs
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51