"Meeting Her" | Poems, 008

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Meeting Her

 
Drifting down the now calm waters,
Of my river,
A new branch breaks.
 
It takes me tumbling,
And for days, I must find new ways,
To stay swimming.
 
A waterfall and, splash!
The waters are calmer,
But deeper and colder,
Than ever before.
 
My blood screams, my thoughts freeze,
But ah! how refreshing it is,
A random tangent in the patterned weave.
 
I wonder... How deep is it really?
And is it where I want to be?
As the waters caress me,
And I them,
The answers arrive,
As always.

 
divider.jpg



If you've been following, you'll notice that I changed the order of things a bit now. The image first, then the poem, then the small explanatory piece. I think it's better for readers not to read a preamble before the poem, so that their consciousnesses can absorb the words untainted.
 
I've said before that my first real relationship only happened when I was 21. Well, this poem was written a little while after meeting her. I could hardly believe I had a girlfriend... A real girlfriend, who seemed to genuinely like me. I was unsure of everything, while trying to enjoy it at the same time.
 
Fair warning: Almost all the poems from here on out are love-related, or at least, inner-struggle-emotion-related, with love being a central theme.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
I appreciate it more than can be expressed in one line at the end of a post.

~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"The Square" - Inspired Collaboration | "Pentanonoclus" - dIFS Pong with @welshpixie - #001 | "Lux Ornatia" - Your Own Personal Mandala
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88