I’ve been giving @karenb54 a hand with her rhyming competition!

in #poetry6 years ago

After being a runner up in one of Karen’s contests, and getting a win in another, last week I helped out as a guest judge and this week I judged it on my own. This week her words were: Power, Tree, Date, Mutate.

judge1.jpg

Here are the finalists. My decision will be posted by her in a few hours, so look out for it. But in the meantime, here’s a wee poem about my experiences.

You know that now I’m 60,
All my bits are old,
Sift, he sometimes tells me
I don’t hear what I’m told.

When Karen asked if I could judge
Her latest Power Tree contest,
“Electricity confuses me”
I openly confessed.

But then, in my head,
The words they did mutate,
I understood I was to judge
Poetry, on this date!

I browsed through the entries,
What a daunting task!
“Which ones do I react to?”
Is the question that I ask.

Some of them are funny
Some of them are sad
How can I compare them,
And decide if some are bad?

I’ve made my last decision,
For better or for worse.
And now I’ll duck my head
In case you fling at me a curse!

To all the worthy entrants,
The winners, and the rest,
I thank you for your good work,
And hope that you are blessed.

judge2.jpg

And just for fun, here are my previous entries:

Words for week 1: TRICK, BRICK. FLOWER, DANCE

There was a young lady from France
And oh how she loved to dance
Her cleverest trick
Was to dance on a brick
And waving a flower, she’d prance.

flower-dance.jpg

Words for week 2: BLOG, FOG, COFFEE, DREAM

I am a chocolate addict
I confess it on my blog
Without my daily chocolate hit
My brain would be a fog

I never have liked coffee
I never have liked tea
If I want a comfort drink
Hot chocolate is for me

I love the smell of coffee
To wake me from a dream
But the only way I'll taste it
Is in a coffee cream!

CoffeeCreams.jpg

Thanks for reading

Pictures from Pixabay unless otherwise stated.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Oh thats great initiative. Love your effort.
And i loved your words for the 2nd week.

This sounds great @kiwideb. I understand completely. It was a lot of fun to read and a spirit of freedom and joy to go along with it. I have to check out @karenb54's contest.

You know, I've spent nearly all my working life being busy, busy, busy. Though who isn't these days? It's time now to be more about what I am rather than what I do. And I couldn't aim for anything better than freedom, fun and joy !

I'm following the free and fun @kiwideb. I'm glad for this and hope great joy for you continually.

@kiwideb is a poet, did you know it. Rhyming is good timing.

I'm always a bit of sucker for a poem with good rhyming and good timing. I guess I'm old school. But I did put that bias aside while I judged!

hi kiwideb you are superb in describing your feelings in poetry.beautiful words

Thanks @biyanoor. Hope all is well with you.

yeah i am fine dear ,How are you and family

Love it and thank you :)

You're most welcome :-)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52