Becoming your Mom -- Steemit School 100 Days of Poetry Challenge {DAY 2}

in #poetry6 years ago

To everyone that read and commented on my first poem for the Steemit School 100 Days of Poetry challenge yesterday, thank you so much! I was so worried my poetry would be rusty at best. However, I got lots of great compliments and feedback...enough to make me excited to continue with the challenge!

Today's poem is dedicated to my older son, the one that made me a mom! :)

newborn-2553566_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Becoming your Mom

From the moment that we met,
I have never felt so alive.
Excited to earn the title of “MOM”,
The one to help you grow and thrive.

You were placed in my nervous arms,
So content and so sleepy,
Who knew something so tiny,
Could make a woman so weepy?

I knew right then and there,
I’d always do my best for you.
Let go of the trivial things in life,
And forget my own needs too.

The first days of having you home,
Went by so fast they blurred.
My heart fuller than ever before,
I jumped every time you stirred.

You’re growing up before my own eyes,
Sprouting faster than a weed ever could.
Becoming a bright, independent young man,
And mostly doing the things you should.

Seven years have passed now,
Gone in the blink of an eye,
But I cherish every day as your mom,
And that moment you lifted me so high.

baby-feet-1527456_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Read my First Poem: The Effects of Anxiety





Join in on the Challenge! | Join the Steemit School Discord

separator

blank-2.gif
keciah.png keciah2.png
keciah_red.png
SMbannersmall.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

There is nothing that compares in life to becoming a mom, I agree with you on that. You captured that great emotion in your poem. Enjoy every moment, even if it's some kind of struggle, they grow up way to fast. My two are now 27 and 24!

Thank you for your kind words, @violetmed! And yes, I keep reminding myself to slow down and enjoy the moment, because before we know it they will be grown.

omg, this is the cutest.

I do not have a child, nor am I in a place in life where I can even imagine it, yet you transported me through your words and the genuineness of the emotions the came through them to the eyes and heart of a mother.

Absolutely delightful, and such a great contribution, in many ways, to the International Women's Day poems that I keep having the privilege of coming upon.

Thank you so much for sharing, @keciah. <3

Thank you so much for reading, @carmalain7!!

Awww this is so beautiful... I love it!

I just turned 30 and I realllly look forward to having children... But I'm not ready quite yet!

But I can't wait to feel that love that only a parent can feel for their child.

I'm sure it's one of the greatest gifts and most rewarding experiences that this life has to offer us.

Thanks for sharing this and I look forward to reading more over the next 98 days... it's gonna be an exciting adventure together!

Keep up the great work.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Thanks for stopping by, @hartfloe! It is absolutely a rewarding experience...even if it's something trying as well! :)

Yes as with everything in life, I know there'll be many trials and tribulations to overcome... but that's a big part of why our souls do it... we have much to learn from our children I believe... more so than many parents realize!

When the time is right and I am ready for that part of my journey, I'm sure it will all fall into place :)

I look forward to reading more.. keep up the great work.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

GRREAT having Kids isn’t it! Thanks for sharing your lovely poem

It truly is great, @nikisteem! Thanks for stopping by. :)

We meet once again. .. what a feeling it is! To be a mum

Awe how touching. Really opens up to me the magic of being a mom. I'm sure there's nothing else like it ❤️

Thank you for reading, @lalilands. It is definitely an experience like no other. :)

Keep on emitting the love! You're doing it great! With every word that you say!

Thank you for the kind words, @spellmaker!

You nailed it! Being a Mom, is the greatest joy!

Definitely, @emergehealthier! Thanks for stopping by. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54