Bad poetry online and what we can do about it

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

We are in a crisis of poetry.

We don’t even know what it is anymore, actually. We don’t understand what makes good poetry good, and so we don’t know how to acknowledge it, enjoy it, or celebrate it. It is illegible to us, and indecipherable. And so it often dies—and the good writers along with it, in the varied ways this happens—artistic death, soul death, and yes, sometimes physical death by suicide or self-harm.

More than that, we don’t even understand that poetry (and good art generally), is merely the authentic human capturing of moments and eternity. Nature’s beauty, and love, and joy, are all what I will call “natural poetry.” An experience of awe and wonder is natural poetry. Deep, true laughter is natural poetry. That wonderful feeling right before you drift off to sleep is natural poetry.

Image.png-17.jpeg

But we rarely spend time in the delight of these things, and rarely allow ourselves the comfort of basking in the best kind of “wasted time” (A London poet, Sarah de Nordwall, says this often).

So the truth is actually that we haven’t just lost touch with poetry—in a funny way, we have lost touch with both reality and mystery. The closest we get, for the most part, is sentimental drivel masquerading as art, when really it is just thinly-veiled self-absorption and self-indulgence.

We should not encourage this. But as a culture, we do.

And it is debilitating us. We have no idea the effect it has on us all long-term to be deprived of the immaterial food of goodness and beauty and the excellent almost-capturing of glorious mystery that is good art. We shrivel up, wandering aimlessly, nearly dead but miserably alive, through T. S. Eliot’s “Waste Land”—and we don’t even know it.

Image.png-18.jpeg

One of the most disappointing things so far on Steem (and I absolutely love it here in nearly every other way, in case you don’t already know) is that bad poetry and art is still getting attention more than the good stuff (I’m not jealous or worried about my own work here—I’m brand new and hardly have anything of mine up just yet and don’t expect a stronger response for a while). It gets upvoted.. but it’s really not good.

I’m not angry. I’m not envious. But I am deeply sad, because of what it says about where we are culturally.

But while I want to mention that in order to challenge us here on Steem to be better, especially compared to the cheap popularity on other social media platforms, I don’t want to focus on the poor quality of others. They may do as they wish, and many will support them, no matter what I say. Instead, I propose we begin a radical, widespread education here on excellence in art and writing, so more of the good writers and artists will begin to thrive as well. Steem could literally be cutting edge in its sophisticated support of really good art. And as the platform grows, it could start to actually affect a world-wide culture on the arts. That would truly be a “grassroots movement” for the books. I know this is a big dream, but I believe it's possible.

This will take work, but I am committed to writing about it often on Steem. I really hope other serious writers and artists will join in on the conversation. Slowly and surely, we could use this platform to revive a capacity for real taste and appreciation of excellence and beauty in modern life. And trust me--it will do us much good.

Below is a link to some real poetry (don’t be lazy—fight for reality and meaning, friend! Click the link!) But you must know, before you embark on reading it, that real poetry demands something of you—humility and investment. You often only can receive by what you are willing to give. And you must be willing to receive it rather than grasp at it. You will likely need to re-read it, over the course of days, weeks, years to fully grasp its meaning (that is actually part of the delight).

The expectation here is entirely different from the instant gratification that is in many ways the defining mark of our times. We can be better. We can pause and take a little time for the things that are truly worth our time. It will take a firm decision and discipline, but we can do it.

Here is the link to e.e. cummings’ “anyone lived in a pretty how town.” Simple, wonderful, poetic perfection.

And thank you for reading, and for your ongoing support of both this conversation and my personal work. Every little bit makes such a difference for me as one of the “little” guys.

Xx, Kay

(All work on my Steem blog, in any presented form, is always copyrighted, so in your interests and mine, please use proper attribution.)

Sort:  

You mention in the comments here that you realize poetry is subjective. Why then do you aim to declare other people's work invalid?

I will say that I am pretty picky about poetry myself. In fact, I don't like that E.E. Cummings' poem you linked. However, I do like his poem that begins with "Who knows if the moon's a balloon..." That is because I like the elements he uses in the second poem, such as repetition, internal rhymes, alliteration, and similar vowel and consonant sounds thrown together to make the poem more melodious. But you see, that's my style. I wouldn't ask people to have the same opinion as me.

Some people value the emotion behind poetry and this can be seen in even the cliche poems with forced rhymes that are written by some teenagers. Those poems can be as meaningful to someone as a well-written sonnet with old English language. Someone can come across that "bad" poem and say, "I relate."

I don't think many people write poetry with the aim to make money. (It's a very difficult thing to do.) Thus, it's an art form for people to express themselves in whatever way that means something to them (whether that's in free verse, with a strict rhyme structure, with a lack of structural conformity like E.E. Cummings, or with blatant typos). Don't be so quick to discount people's writing.

I acknowledge some level of subjectivity, but I won't say it's totally subjective as some people say.

You're misunderstanding me. Quality is different than my taste (I just commented on your rap, for example). For example, even if you don't like the poem I linked, you can still appreciate that it's good and insightful and creative and took some brilliance and skill, can't you?

I, for example, have no problem acknowledging quality, even if I don't like it. I am happy to see stuff that isn't to my particular taste proliferate, as long as it is still of quality.

But I will still be quick to discount people's writing as not good if it simply isn't good. This doesn't make me anything but honest. That doesn't mean I don't think it has any value (why I brought up the therapeutic aspect of it), but just because it's valuable to the person, doesn't mean it's valuable art. I need to stand by that.

I will acknowledge what you say about cliches & the emotion behind it, to a point. But I would argue that even if it's relatable, it doesn't automatically qualify it as good.

Thank you for clarifying your position on the topic. "...it's valuable to the person, doesn't mean it's valuable art" — I can get behind that belief.

If you have the time, would you mind explaining what you like or admire so much about that E.E. Cummings poem you shared? It's not a favorite of mine, and I didn't personally get anything out of it. But I would like to know what makes it special to someone else. Maybe then I could understand more about what you personally value in poetry.

Wow mate.. You get my vote!

Right now, it's not necessary quality, but popular stuff that gets most of the rewards. Hopefully, we'll get there eventually. We just need more people to use their votes and comments responsibly. It's a free market though, so everyone can do how they feel is best.

Exactly. And so I'm hoping to influence that free market toward excellence through starting a BIG conversation about it on here.

Thanks so much for your comment! Xx, Kay

Good luck with your initiative. Everything needs to start somewhere. :)

Thank you! Sincerely! Little seeds grow to big trees. xx

I agree with you. I am a beginner on steemit as well and I have found that very low quality content gets upvoted a lot. I also agree that a way to deal with it is recommending great poetry and trying to post good quality stuff ourselves. Now, defining what is good or bad poetry is not something I would attempt to do but I know what you mean.

That's definitely a huuuge part of it. But we need a LOT of people convinced this is important to see it really influence things over time.

It's ultimately a little subjective, but not as subjective as a lot of people think or suggest. There is actually a real thing called quality, beauty, excellence, talent, skill. And there are a lot of things that are obviously bad.

I'm not really on a crusade to root all sprouting creativity out, but it would be wonderful to see a lot of people intentionally using their votes to get quality seen on the platform. In the long run, I think this will benefit everyone--it will even challenge writers to get better!

Thanks so much for joining the conversation on this! Xx, Kay

Another great post - keep it up :)

Thank you! Much obliged :)

This is a great post. I feel the same way. I'm part of your movement for sure <3

Thank you! I appreciate your comment! Xx, Kay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37