POEM: Rebel Cry Rising

in #poetry6 years ago

rebel


There is a wildness inside of me. It’s always been there, but it’s raw. Feisty. Ready to play or lash out, fuelled by ancestral magic that reaches tangled roots into lives of the past…

line

Rebel Cry Rising (by Katrina Ariel)


Rebel cry rises
Behind lips shut tight,
Heart pounding a march
Ready for a fight.

Mind-mother tries to hush,
To soothe, to hide,
But waves crash in my chest,
Inside, the rising tide.

Soul samurai lifts her sword,
Always ready to swing.
Mama says relax,
Don’t scream, just sing.

Talk myself down for the thousandth time.
Breathe deep. Go write some rhymes.
Gotta move, gotta run. Stop dancing in place.
This whole blessed world is my sacred space.

I was born to fly
Gypsy heart wants free,
But in stillness
I learn to breathe a deeper me.

Rebel cry rises!
Gotta harness that thing,
Focus it like an arrow,
Make it fucking sing.

There’s an urgency to life,
Makes me want it hard and fast.
How do I live for the long haul
When any day could be the last?


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

This poem is partially inspired by @enchantedspirit’s posts on the energy of the cosmos and reclaiming your independence. She does AMAZING astrology blogs. Go check her out.

Lots of things come up as I think of my free spirit dancing with planets and stars.

And, yes, I’m turning this one into a song, just don’t have the music totally figured out yet. Might be my next open mic entry. It sure soars through me…

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @enginewitty, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @steemgigs, @curie, @lukestokes.mhth, @pfunk, @c0ff33a,@sapphic, @yabapmatt, @noblewitness — There are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Can you feel it? I can feel it... something's coming. I can feel a stirring of the pot and a little bit of that urgency you speak of. Some fun rhymes!

I can feel it. ;) Glad you liked the poem. Thank you!

I've been feeling it for a long while now, and we're definitely reaching a critical mass of sorts. Exciting times to be alive. :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I LOVE this poem, and that photo! Yoga in the trees, you're pretty badass, my friend! Yet another of your poems that feels like I could have written it myself. Your words touch my core. Wonderful post, thanks! Can't wait to hear how you translate it into song!

Posted using Partiko Android

How on earth did you take that photo from that angle - it must be a very dextrous selfie stick.

Quite an aggressive poem, but I like it very stirring and raises the emotions.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

lol! I had help. That's no selfie. ;) Yes, it's an edgier poem than my usual stuff. Glad you like it! Thanks!

You a one gorgeous wild gypsy honey!!!! You look amazing in that photo, like a truly free spirit and I have so much love for you!!!! 💚💚💚

Oh! 💖 You leave some of the kindest comments. Thank you! So much love back, my sister! 💖💖💖

Gives me energy reading this one, like when you're really tired in the morning and hop in the shower. Refreshing :)

There's a lot of energy in it, for sure. 💖

This really gives me that good feeling 😊 and that picture just is such beautiful energy and I love the tree. You really one with nature!
Absolutely beautiful poem and pose ❤️

Thank you! I love that photo. It was a stellar day in New Orleans when I got those shots. The Live Oaks down there have part of my heart. 💖

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is deep and very crystal clear

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Wow... great poetry and photography... wonderful

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34