Walk in the Rain

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



5dab1ff0f60632286998d3f33eaca27d.jpg



I’ve had enough of watery days
The mist, the damp and sodden lanes
The remembrance of other times
When we’d walk past these very pines


This year it was cold and snow
More frigid than the year before
And now the rain’s incessant fall
The ticking clock upon the wall

I'm walking in the March chill
Hoping to escape the thought
Of what was had and what was lost
And wondering how to count the cost

It’s works the same in the end
Always a wronged man or woman
Strong and staunch in their defence
Unwilling to concede an inch

Wars were fought and lost for less
Repeating this is simple madness
The end result is always the same—
Separation and enduring sadness

No one will try to end the pain
But hide behind a righteous blame
So left with nothing to complain,
I walk out into the rain.


© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Spot on yet again @johnjgeddes. I’ve always loved your poetry. So good. It’s so true... people always hiding behind their righteousness and blaming others for their own shit. This poem resonates with me so well at this time in my life. Whenever I read your stuff it’s usually parallel with something I’m going through. Thank you for sharing. ☺️

appreciate the reflective response, Nikki - I'm glad my poems speak to you :)

Great work in verse, John. Some very effective wording. A very insightful write into the dealing of human heart and romance turned sour.

thanks, Pryde - appreciate that

Wow this is interesting me I'm working in chill of all the month not just match lol I love this so I'll upvote and resteem as usual

very good words, I really like the contents of the post @johnjgeddes.

@johnjgeddes, if there is time to visit my blog

The #1 Thing To Do If You Want Upvotes (And Exactly What NOT To Earn Follwers And Respect)... / https://steemil.com/steemit/@rok-sivante/the-1-thing-to-do-if-you-want-upvotes-and-exactly-what-not-to-earn-follwers-and-respect

Very associative poem. I really breathe this moist, heavy air and also passed between the pine trees... It's magical)

"In the rain is where i find peace"

You are a great poet. This is really amazing.Thanks for this lovely poetry

Great poem! The words: "No one will try to end the pain" its so much more sense for me.

Hopefully you want to check out my poetry https://steemit.com/life/@anggreklestari/maukah-kamu-menyadarkan-diri

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53