Rain Black and Gray

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)



rain_and_coffee_by_window_by_wowwy91801-d8zch3s.jpg



This rain has darkened everything:


Each drop contains
A black grain of misery

All the world’s pain
And none of its sympathy;

...

Predictably,
It’s pouring again
Beating a rhapsody

A tin pan cacophony

Down narrow alleyways
And lanes that never end

Except at the bay

Where they blur into a haze
Of sky and lake

And disappear in the turbid water’s wake.

...


Of windless drizzle
And matters dark and dismal
I write

Of improbable men
Burdened with sins

Of mundane crimes
Too trite to recite

They all close in tonight

Remind me
Of what I’ve been
And how little it means

This love
I can’t requite.

...

Sadly, for me,
Hope has dwindled
To a sad train whistle

Borne on the rain
From far away;

...

So, here's to us—

For all the times
I tried to make amends
But failed

And all the ways
I went astray

I’m here
In a dirge of fog and rain
Abandoned
In a world black and gray,

On my own again
Still trying to find my way.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations, your post received 7.78% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 2.72% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Qué poema tan triste, @johnjgeddes. triste y hermoso.Cuantas palabras aguantadas, sostenidas en el silencio. Con la lluvia te siento lejano y a punto de caer como una gota de agua. El paisaje gris predice la tormenta afuera y adentro. De qué tamaño es la pena, cuan largo es ese camino para el reencuentro? Afectuosamente, lo saludo.

They say we are destined to make the same mistakes until we learn from them. Oddly enough, I have learned that being romantically alone is better than making the same mistakes. An odd and unexpected lesson.

Fantastic craft here, John:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84