Our Lives

in #poetry6 years ago



The-Professor-by-Artist-Pino-Daeni-Artwork.jpg



It's easy to express romantic love
Harder to manage daily love,
To forgive failings
Hurt feelings,
To divide self from soul.


I’m a writer;
Sure, I can rhapsodize
And improvise
Or use words
To mimic true love.

But art is weaker than life;
Living is more than delving
Into a bag of letters
Scrabbling them into order
Like rune tiles to cast our fate.

This is not a defence
Of my art
But an explanation-
Making stories is part of my craft
But mostly, I'm a heart whisperer.

And yes, I write about you,
Reams and reams of rhymes
But Proust would understand
Those Madeleine moments
When a sound or scent
Incants your presence
And I simply write it down.

Over and over my heart breaks
Never in the same pattern of pieces
But breaks nonetheless…

And when that happens
I retreat to my sacred landscape-
The foothills of the stars

I go there often to sleep

So, I use words
Only to counter your spells,
Your sex magic,
The dark penumbras
Of your eyes

And in the end,
Words save me
From a desert of arid nights
And the emptiness of sighs.

I have determined
To use words
Only to conjure
Your spirit
That dwells within.

But know this—

All lights dim
When you walk in.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I read may poems on steemit. Poets mostly used very tough words which is difficult to understand but your poem is really nice and easy to understand.Keep up the good work.

He quedado muda ante usted y este poema, @johngeddes. He admirado noche a noche sus poemas y ciertamente he creído en vidas perfectas y finales felices. A veces he olvidado al autor, porque como escritor, me ha hecho ilusionarme con sus historias y personajes. Me quito el sombrero ante sus palabras, poeta.

Todo escritor desea un lector que espera con ansia su escritura, Nancy. Gracias

There is the ideal and there is the act of being present in love. Your write show both deep insight and passion. Wonderful:)

Thanks, Pryde :)

Nice post. I love the words "heart whisperer". It indicates someone who can solve problems of the heart.

Thank you for your response :)

Aww, I love that last line.

Thanks, Ginny

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Nicely written. Makes one to pause and think

Congratulations, your post received 7.58% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 3.80% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is awesome i must say. I enjoy your write ups

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28