Flawed Man

in #poetry6 years ago



f50e7acf8f7017953d170498bdad4f0b--portrait-art-self-portraits.jpg



We live in another world
You and me,
Governed by different laws:


You are sunlight and flowers
Your laughter
A skipping stream of consonants
Like water over rocks

But I am night
And a lonely moon against a tower,
Shadows and blue moonbeams
And the lull of quiet hours

The magic of my art
Often runs at cross purposes
With the rhythm of our loving

I need solitude and crickets
Darkness closing its eyelids—
Shadows to loom
And populate a room
With innumerable
Improbable characters

I didn’t choose this;
But Life chose me Instead
To voice its pain
And put into words
The beauty of the mundane

I wish I could tell your beauty
Softly
But it’s my rough hands
That caress your face

I am a flawed man,
Who before you
Was a doubled-up fist,

But now can hold soft things…

Fragile as a butterfly’s wings,

Delicate as night’s face

Tender as its dark eyelids

Fluttering in infinite space.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

Los diferentes se atraen, como los polos de los imanes, @johnjgeddes. Somos seres que nos gusta en el otro lo que nos falta, lo que nos complementa. Aunque el ser amado sea el sol, brilla en tu oscuridad.Eres el poeta y ella tu musa, la que te ilumina y de allí puedas sentir que a su lado eres el círculo perfecto. Quién si no, los escritores para perfeccionar la realidad, para volverla bella. Te abrazo

Es muy cierto, Nancy, soy la poeta y ella es mi musa que me ha presentado las cosas suaves :)

I can relate to this. Light and dark need each other.

Thanks, Ginny :)

💕💕💕 Amazing lines you have got their.
Loved it all the way.

but then opposite things always attracts each other :)

Beautiful and toucheable poem

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Congratulations, your post received 7.03% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 2.45% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @johnjgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

From my perspective I believe this poem is telling us about how we're so much fun and full of energy and beauty during our youthful days while during the aged days we loath our youthful days full of remembrance of how much fun life was during our youthful days.... What a nice poem... Thanks 👍

Gorgeous write of love and emotional maturity. Lovely:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56697.29
ETH 2390.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29