Blackout

in #poetry5 years ago



07.-J-Caple_Wood-House-acrylic-on-canvas-28-x-32-ins.jpg



I write poems
That won’t endure
The anger of a page
Left bare,


Or silence
That shouts its truth
At night
Without your being there.

I hate ghosts
And summer shadows
Over roads
Opaque as glass,

Dark skies
And storms
Severing lines,
That prolong a dark impasse.

Nothing prepared me
For this austerity—
To deny myself
And hide my need;

There’s a lie
That gives life,
And lamentably, a lie
Meant to deceive;

And then there’s my lie
Of false hope,
Spawned simply
So I can breathe…

In myths and dreams
I fan my needs
With sparks
That kindle love,

And struggle nights
To understand
The hidden plans of God.



© 2020, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



Sort:  

I have struggled all my life, and the struggle continues, to understand those hidden plans...

On rare occasions, I seem to get a tiny glimpse.

😄😇😉

@creatr

Jas 1:5 - My mentor repeated this verse so many times I thought I would scream. Problem is I wanted directions :)

Thank you, John... Music to my ears and water to my parched soul... :D

And, for the benefit of those who may later come across this interchange:

"If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69