Sonnet #4 for @ChrisRoberts

in #poetry7 years ago

I've written, I think, 3 sonnets before. At least 2, but I threw an extra one in there, because I'm sure I forgot one, and this way, if I haven't, there will be one lost sonnet of Brendan. I hope I have them all somewhere. This is why I kept all my notebooks since ever.

This one is for https://steemit.com/contest/@chrisroberts/poetry-contest-write-me-a-sonnet-win-sbd

Your face is more covered in hair than most
Your nose reminds the muppets of their own
These physical details are no mere boast
They help you succeed at the Autozone
Employees are eager to offer deals
Admiring all your wacky, tacky clothes
They flirt with you and take you out for meals
Inviting you to fancy Broadway shows
The cast of Avenue Q thinks you're lost
You strut upon the stage and sing your best
And when the curtain falls a rose is tossed
You clutch it closely to your heaving chest
At last adventure came and you loved it
Alas you wake a minnow on Steemit

Sort:  

Sheer brilliance! Thanks for entering my contest. You nailed it... they do help me succeed at autozone. You caught me. I'm actually an artsy-fartsy twerp.

Amusing side-notes: My degree is in theatre performance and I used to sing and dance in musical theatre.

Proud to be a minnow on Steemit! Where else could I ask for sonnets to be written, and it becomes so?

Yeeha! Speaking of asking for things and making them so, wanna enter a pun in the pun contest I'm running?

https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-monday-22-join-us-prize-announcements-for-21

Another great share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79