RUNAWAY RHYMES 8: Have You Heard About The Word (Now Weekly Poetry Contest)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Runaway Rhymes 8

Here is another round of this growing poetry contest and as always I can't wait to read all your poems!

There is a little change this round, instead of a topic, I have randomly picked five words so here we go with....

BIG ANNOUCEMENT

Runaway Rhymes is now weekly

RUNAWAY RHYMES 8 TOPIC: Have You Heard About The Word

So as you can see the 5 words are: football, mother, key, craft and bird

Your poem will have to include these words somewhere in it.

EXAMPLE: HERE'S ONE I DID LATER!....

RUNAWAY RHYMES 8: It's Just Football

PRIZES

First prize 5 SBD
Second Prize: 3 SBD
Third Prize: 2 SBD
Honorable Mentions: 1 SBD

RULES

The rhyming poem has to be 8 lines or more.

It has to rhyme (or almost rhyme).

Please add your poem or post link to the poem into the comments of this post. (If its not in the comments, or linked to in the comments it won't be included in the competition).

1 entry per Runaway Rhymes Round

OPTIONAL, BUT HELPFUL


Please let as many poets (or anyone who might want a go who then discover they are poets but didn't know its) know about this competition as possible by re-steeming this post, and/ or including a link back to it in your Runaway Rhymes post.

DEADLINE:


Midnight Saturday 12th August
I will judge and do all the payouts on Sunday 13th August

Let's make this the BIGGEST and BEST Runaway Rhymes round so far, so please do spread the word far and wide.

Good Luck.

Sort:  

Good to be here. This is my entry.

Just A Game We Play

Mother needed a key to the cupboard
But I gave her a craft of the billboard
My friend is a witness of the board
That she set to take me overboard

I need to play football with friends
But birds have messed up the field
Trying to catch one but they all fled
I'm back home now but I need to flirt

https://steemit.com/poem/@greatness96/just-a-game-we-play

I like this changed.

Don't you know about the WORD?

EVERYBODY KNOWS ABOUT THE WORD!

I'm onto it!

...and I missed it. I like the change. I hope you continue the contest.

Next competition will be starting tonight. I need more entrants again please lol. This weeks topic will be Pause for a Clause - a poem about a cause important to you,

Wow. That is a heavy one. I will try to muster the courage.
It might be an epic rambler.

Scoloscope is my nickname.
And I know life is just like another football game.
At 4, I'll remember my mother's claims.
That I was small, innocent and thought i could fly like a bird.
But the doors i thought of had no key for me,
Even when am on my sleeping bed.
Now I have this craft for life,
Tis poetry and as i strife to be better at it, i know it is my right-to-life.

here is my entry

I want to have the key
I want to be free
from this cage
I want to write on every page
and craft the book of my own adventures
fly like a bird to my new ventures
Be the mother and the child
be wild
have my own football game
and my own kind of fame!

I thank my mother see
Young she shared with me
The key to victory
Don’t listen to their word
It is just for the bird
If you want to play football
And make it to the draft
Make it your passion
Make it your craft

It's just football Key to the Draft Full Post here

Include all the 5 words?

A mother kicked a football
Craft a key for her husband
And got pooped by a bird

to @hopehuggs, does the word have to be literal, or is something like craft-ed good too?

You can have crafted I suppose, the word is in there. It just needs to be 8 lines or more and rhyme :)

Yes, that is correct. I'll try and get an example poem sorted tomorrow. Burning the midnight oil here tonight.

Thank you @hopehuggs. I saw this on the poetry workshop pnned message and decided to join for the first time. I believe with more poets coming into it in the future, we can have a bigger, better and more fun-filled platform to compete.

There have been more entrants than this in the past few weeks. It just seems to be a quiet week. Maybe as its the summer, people have been enjoying the weather, rather than writing poetry. Or life has just got in the way. I have another great topic for tomorrow, hopefully get a few more entrants.

Okay, keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42