Runaway Rhymes 8: It's Just Football

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

It ended up taking me 24 hours to be inspired by the words I gave out for this week's Runaway Rhymes competition, so here is my example poem.

The five words that you need to include in a rhyming poem of 8 lines or more are: football, mother, key, craft, bird

It's Just Football

My mother laughed
When I called it craft.
"Its just football" she said
"Try maths instead".

She came to watch one day
Came to see me play.
She spent the whole time
Watching a bird climb.

"It was a nuthatch" she cried
"I scored a goal" I sighed.
How well, she won't get a key
To my mansion by the sea

Please write a poem for Runaway Rhymes 8

Thank you for reading and supporting me, I really appreciate it.

(Football picture source is pixabay.com)

Sort:  

I love the story here, the sentiment... to bad mum didn't learn more about penalties before dissing the game.

Wow Perfect ryhymes. Only by the one who got the expertise. Well done @hopehuggs

@harrywill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42