Runaway Rhymes 8: Goals

in #runawayrhymes7 years ago

GOALS

Although I wanted to be the best,
at football I was behind the rest.
To improve, I knew I’d have to graft
if I really was to learn my craft.
My goal was to be on the team,
it became my overriding dream.
Practice really was the key
if I was ever to succeed.
Each night my mother took me to the park
we played and trained ‘til after dark.
At school, the coach he sat us down
‘We’re playing the toughest team in town.
‘You’re in the side’, I heard his words,
my heart soared higher than a bird.
I got the ball and used my skill,
to beat their players, all at will.
I scored a goal, we won the game
the crowd began to chant my name.
I really had achieved my goal
of being in the starring role!

This is my entry to this week’s Runaway Rhymes competition run by @hopehuggs.

Any critiques, positive or negative, of my poem are welcome.

Sort:  

Great topic Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68