just calm down

in #poetry7 years ago



shaking hands, dipped in cold water.
shuffling feet, chasing double deckers.
flailing arms, endlessly searching for something to hold onto.
the restlessness has come into town.
you know, sometimes, you just get so restless.
without any of your intention.
as if your body is rebelling, screaming at you.
running wild, every single pore is gasping for some action.
you feel like you want to tear down a building,
and make one up from scratch.
you feel like you want to read every single book in the library,
and burn them afterwards.
you feel like you want to throw snowballs at strangers,
and go horse-riding.
you feel like you want to bungee-jump,
and take up cooking lessons.
you feel like you want to hop on a spaceship,
and launch yourself into the outer space...

*

where is this agitation coming from?
getting annoyed for no reason?
or maybe there is a reason.
but i'm just refuting it.
my pent-up frustrations, collected subconsciously every day,
are starting to surface.
and the only way to clear my mind is to put them down in words.
what are these issues that are bothering me?
i find myself so reckless at times.
sometimes, i just don't know who i am anymore.
my desires are all jumbled up.
is this what i really want?
or did i just buy myself into this illusion?
perhaps the agitation stems from having expectations,
and then people failing to achieve them.
is life about give and take?
perhaps it's when we forget about taking,
and focus on giving,
do we really find the meaning of life.
i'm still finding myself.
wandering day after day,
seeking this unknown element,
gaining strength and training for this marathon of life.

i need peace of mind.
i need a cup of tea.
a cup of darjeeling tea,
and a box of rose macaroons from laduree paris...

*

we don't own anyone.
nobody owns us.
only you can own yourself.
but be wary - don't build walls around yourself.
you'll end up trapping yourself.

we gotta be free and let others be free to be happy...


adult-2178904_640.jpg
Image credits to pixabay

Sort:  

Nicely done! I like this effect with restless town getting silent by the evening

Nice poem👍

when i started to read poems of famous poets like byron shelly herbert marvell, i didn't feel so good. it feels their poem goes over my head, so i thought i might just hate poems. but here i found some wonderful writers whose poems are so easy and heart touching, and i realized that i don't hate poems. your poetry is one of that kind. btw, i love emily dickinson's poems.

@honeybee thanks for sharing this poem..
i love the flows
"we don't own anyone.
nobody owns us.
only you can own yourself.
but be wary - don't build walls around yourself.
you'll end up trapping yourself.""we gotta be free and let others be free to be happy..."

thanks for making our day so complete when reading your amazing poem..
@sweetsssj thanks for always supporting my buddy honeybee..

kindly support me also on my journey on this community..

im now celebrating @my 300 plus followers .your upvote is very much appreciated..
...thanks and more power to you..and more poems to write..thanks for giving me a chance buddy..
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mrblu/poem-to-my-followers-and-steemit-special-thanks-for-being-here-with-me-following-my-post-steem-poem

freedom is peace of mind with God also

Oh wow.. That's some deep stuff.

Talk soon.

Wow, powerful poem.
Thank you for the share.
upvote & resteem

Hola me gusta mucho cómo creaste el post todo como si fuera una caja de código. Saludos

Hi everyone
Today i joined steemit. Started Steemit with a nice poem
Thank you

i just fallow u fallow me back

Welcome Steem world..

@honeybee My heart goes out to you and anyone struggling with depression. I struggled with it for years. But I don't anymore. Here are things I did to eliminate it: forgave myself and others for all of the "wrongs" committed in my life (realized that everyone is doing the best that they can under the circumstances); stopped having expectations and being attached to certain outcomes; did everything in my power to shift my thoughts from negative to positive and better yet, learned to quiet the mind chatter altogether; got out in nature and exercised every single day; became a vegetarian and ate healthier; stopped drinking alcohol. It took years of inner work and determination, but I am now one of the most positive people around. I, too, use my writing as a healing tool. Always have and always will. Been writing nearly every day for years. You too can totally be free from depression.

graciously received. I over think a lot of things, leading to feelings of being trapped in a labyrinth of the mind. as I try to answer questions, more will surface. there's nothing inherently disdain with my life, in-fact it's quite good. i lead a healthy lifestyle, have no financial deterrents, have supportive friends and family and even very rewarding hobbies. negative thoughts rarely consume my mind, if they do, they are like black holes and my fear is to enter and then never leave.

@honeybee Believe me, I understand overthinking. I used to have a very active mind and do nothing but think. But I stopped listening to it. I know thoughts can lie but feelings never do. So I just lovingly ignored it and went with my feelings. My mind is now, for the most part, blissfully quiet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64841.11
ETH 3523.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36